Have a Question? Ask Me!
Permalinks for Factiva
Making a permalink for a Factiva article
This FAQ creates a link that will reopen an article later. Hint: The link at the top of the browser won't do this on its own.
Using this guide
This guide points out resources from both JMU Libraries and Google that will be useful for completing assignments in BUS 160.
What types of sources should I use?
Articles that appear in periodicals -- such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals -- are good resources to use in academic research. You also might use analyst reports or data to investigate business topics.
Why do I need to use the library to find sources?
JMU Libraries subscribes to databases to provide access to articles. The credible content contained in these databases are typically not freely available through Google. You have to pay to get access to them. But with an article database, JMU Libraries is paying for that access for you.
Not finding what you need?
Getting the data you need from resources can sometimes be tricky. If you aren't finding what you want, send a message or schedule a time to chat with Business Librarian Elizabeth Price.
Business news articles
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAn online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Financial Times This link opens in a new windowDigital content from the Financial Times provides FT articles published in the daily paper, in-depth 'Special Reports', and company and financial information.
Note: First time users will need to create an account using these instructions. - The Economist This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Economist. Note: First-time users must create an individual account using these instructions.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
Key business magazines
- Harvard Business Review (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Articles and case studies
Dates covered:1922 to present - Bloomberg businessweek (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: 1997- present - MIT Sloan Management Review (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Articles and analysis
Dates covered: 1980-present
Search across many news sites
Search these databases for recent news articles from a variety of news sources to use in class or for online discussion boards.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowContent types: News articles from U.S. and international sources, including Virginia newspapers like the Daily News Record.
Dates covered: 1950-present (varies by publication) - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Current news, company information, foreign language news, broadcast transcripts
Dates covered: Current - Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Full text for more than 50 regional business journals, newspapers, and newswires
Dates covered: Current
Scholarly articles on business topics
Questions about connecting from off-campus? Review the off-campus access page.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Peer-reviewed journals, industry and market research reports, magazines, news, SWOTS
Dates covered: 1922-present - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts for journal articles, book chapters, books & dissertations in psychology. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to full-text, if available.
Dates covered: 1872-present - Scopus This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed journals. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to an article's full-text, if available.
Dates covered: 1966-present - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowContent type(s):Full text and images for back issues of scholarly journals in social sciences, e-books.
Dates covered: 1800s to 3-5 years ago