How to get background information
Reference resources are a great way to get a quick definition or explanation of a concept. Given that Health Sciences draws from a variety of subject areas, here are a few resources to help you find the background information you need.
Subject Specific Reference Resources
Examples of Health Sciences Reference Books
The Gale encyclopedia of medicine [electronic resource] by Call Number: RC41 .G35 2020 InternetISBN: 9780028666570Publication Date: 2020Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics. Written for a general audience with an authoritative tone.The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Call Number: INTERNETISBN: 1414403747Publication Date: 2006Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by ISBN: 9781412928168Publication Date: 2007-11-27This book covers the science of epidemiology, the study of the patterns of disease and injury in human populations.
Encyclopedia of Health Services Research by Call Number: RA440.85 .E63 2009 InternetISBN: 9781412951791Publication Date: 2009-05-15Health services research investigates the relationship between the factors of cost, quality, and access to healthcare and their impact upon medical outcomes (i.e., death, disease, disability, discomfort, and dissatisfaction with care).- The Gale Encyclopedia of Public HealthCall Number: RA423 .G35 2013 InternetISBN: 9781414498799Publication Date: 2013
Finding Health Care Controversy Information
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowSecondary and primary sources concerning current social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, the environment, and terrorism, containing everything from biographies to court cases and magazine articles.
- CQ Press Electronic Library This link opens in a new windowReference works and historical documents on issues in U.S. politics, health care, education, economics, bioethics, environment and society.