Teaching with media: videos, images, and more!
Browse the resources below to find media to use in your course. Explore the Free Media for Creative Use research guide to get more ideas on where to find videos, images, and audio online.
Instructional video resources
JMU licenses several different streaming video collections and can even purchase individual titles when requested. You can make a request for streaming videos which you can use in your Canvas course.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowStreaming video tutorials on over 2,000 courses in 3D animation, audio, business, CAD, design, development, photography, video creation, web design, and more.
Note: First time users can get started with these instructions. - Alexander Street Press Video This link opens in a new windowCollection of tens of thousands of streaming videos, from classic movies, to documentaries and education films. Click on Menu > Disciplines > Social Sciences > Business and Economics to find videos specific to CoB subject areas.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Streaming video resource containing thousands of educational videos. Click on Menu (three stacked bars icon) > Subject Areas > Business & Economics. - Kanopy This link opens in a new windowContains over 25,000 videos, documentaries, training films, theatrical releases, and more. Click on Browse to find videos in Business subject area, including case studies. Note: the login/sign up buttons at the top right of the Kanopy interface are for creating and logging in to personal accounts. It is not necessary to log in to view films if you're on campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in as a JMU user when you select a film.
Films of interest
The World According to Amazon.
This investigation tunnels into the workings of the company and its philosophy through insider interviews with business owners, employees and a former founding executive, and seeks to reveal the sky-high ambitions of the company run by the world's first centi-billionaire.
_sm.png)
America Boxed In
Explores the impact of the intermodal container industry on the political, economic, and strategic landscape of the 21st Century.
Seeding change
Documentary about "triple bottom line" businesses that consider the social, environmental and financial impacts of their companies and address some of today's most challenging issues.
Boss: The Black Experience in Business.
Examines more than 150 years of African American men and women who have embodied the qualities that are the heart of the American entrepreneurial spirit.
GameStop: Rise of the Players
The origin story of the GameStop stock market phenomenon, featuring exclusive access to the original players who lit the fuse on a historic amateur investor uprising.
She Started It
Featuring interviews with leading female CEO's and entrepreneurs, it follows several passionate, trailblazing young women as they strive to launch their companies in the ruthlessly competitive world of tech start-ups.
One Man and His Shoes
Tells the story of the phenomenon of Air Jordan sneakers showing their social, cultural and racial significance and how ground-breaking marketing strategies created a multi-billion-dollar business.
Icahn: The Restless Billionaire
Explore the fascinating contradictions at the heart of the famed financier, Carl Icahn. Amassing close to $20 billion dollars over the last half century and at the forefront of some of the most legendary business deals of our times,
Media subscriptions
Note: Harvard Business Review content must be licensed through HBP in education to be used as course readings.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAn online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Access is available in the Library Catalog but you can also sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of U.S. and international news sources, including Virginia newspapers like the Daily News Record.
- AdAge This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the trade magazine AdAge and its DataCenter. Includes profiles of top advertisers, media, and agencies as well as job data, advertising spending, award winners, and agency family trees.
- Bloomberg businessweek (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: 1997- present - The Economist (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: Jan 4, 1992 to present
Alternative course readings
Some of JMU's subscription resources are creating reports, infographics, and podcasts that focus on emerging industries.
- Industry Insider from IBISWorldBlog contains both articles and podcasts about emerging industries pulled from IBISWorld intelligence.
- Mintel Little Conversation PodcastNew podcast series brings new perspectives on how we eat, drink, shop, groom and think.