Science & Math Librarian
Research Tools
- Geology & Environmental Science Research GuideThis is the general subject research guide for Geology & Environmental Science.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- DOI FinderIf you have the DOI number for an article, use this link to help locate the article.
- Geology & Environmental Science DatabasesThis link will take you to all of the Geology & Environmental Science databases the Libraries subscribes to.
- Geology JournalsThis link will take you to all of the Geology journals the Libraries subscribes to.
Top Databases
Top Geology & Environmental Science Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new windowResource for research and communications in the earth sciences, built around a core database of peer-reviewed journals.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoscience literature of the world, including references journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text for over 820 journals on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
Other helpful geology and environmental science databases
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - ProQuest Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications related to environmental science. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts with some full text journals from the publisher Elsevier, the majority of which are in science, technology and medicine.
Useful Websites
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS) CenterPart of the Climate and Land Use Change mission area of the USGS. Home to a large data archive used around the world.
- Marine Geoscience Data SystemFree public access to marine geoscience research data acquired throughout the globe.
- National Centers for Environmental Informaion (NCEI)Formerly three separate data centers (Climactic Data, Geophysical Data, and Oceanographic Data). A robust archive of environmental data, including many satellite images.
- US Global Change Research Program (USGCRP)GlobalChange.gov is the USGCRP's portal to their many research projects aimed at advancing the understanding of and preparing the nation for global change.
- Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)The IPCC is a scientific intergovernmental body set up by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to provide decision-makers and others interested in climate change with an objective source of information.
- World Ocean ReviewAn open access resource of information about the world's oceans written by experts.
- EOL (Encyclopedia of Life)A searchable database of all known species including images, audio files, and video recordings.
- PLANTS DatabaseProvides information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
- Population Reference BureauInformation about population, health, and the environment for research or academic purposes. A private, nonprofit organization.
- Toxicity ForeCaster (ToxCast™) DataFrequently updated, publicly available, toxicity data on thousands of chemicals