Standards
Standards describe how materials and products should be defined, manufactured, measured, tested, and applied. They are used to establish baselines for performance and quality control and ensure compatibility with products and services from different sources.
(Adapted from UCI Libraries)
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowContains complete Annual Book of ASTM Standards for the current year as well as research reports, technical publications, and other data. ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards address manufacturing, research and development, product testing, and quality systems.
- TechStreet This link opens in a new windowSearchable catalog of standards from hundreds of publishers. JMU subscribes to selected standards from ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) and other publishers through Techstreet.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Select Browse > Standards to find electrical engineering standards for cybersecurity, robotics, telecommunications, and more. Also includes SMPTE (Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers) standards.
- Standards Organizations that Offer Free Access to Their StandardsStandards.gov list of organizations that offer free access to their standards. Free standards are often read-only and cannot be printed or downloaded. Some organizations will require you to register first.
Patents
Patent Databases
- US Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database This link opens in a new windowFull text database of U.S. patents from 1976 to the present. Also includes patent number, date, and classification for patents 1790-1975.
- Google PatentsFull-text search of patents from the USPTO, EPO, JPO, SIPO, WIPO, DPMA, and CIPO.
Patent Search Tutorials
- 7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide (PDF)From the US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). See also their Seven Step Strategy page.
- Patent Searching Tutorial (UM)This interactive guide from the University of Minnesota shows how to search in Google Patents and the USPTO database.
- Overview of PatentsLinkedIn Learning video tutorial covering the basics of patents, how to obtain them, and patent infringement.
Building Codes
- Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC)Current Virginia codes for constructing new buildings or additions and for repairing or renovating existing buildings.
- International Code Council (ICC) I-CodesCurrent versions of the International Building Code (IBC), International Residential Code (IRC), International Energy Conservation Code (IECC), and more are available to view for free. These documents are read-only and cannot be printed or downloaded.