Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Political Science: Intl. Law

Background Sources: Print

Basic Documents in International Law
KZ 68.B37 2009

Blackstone's International Law Documents
KZ64.B53 2001
Collection of slected primary documents.

Digest of United States Practice in International Law (1989/90 to present)
Online through the Dept of State website: www.state.gov
The Dept. of State website provides access to full text of documents pertinent to international law issues each year.

Encyclopedia of Public International Law 4 vols.
Ready Ref JX 1226.E5 1992 (warning: Vol. 3 is missing)
Alphabetical rearrangement of the 10-vol. work of 981 bering the same name (this work also in Reference).  Includes bibliographies.

Europa Directory of International Organizations
Ref JZ 4838.E92 2009

Great Events from History II: Human Rights
Ref JC571.G74 1992.  Coverage up to 1992.

International Law: A Dictionary / Boleslaw A. Boczek
Ref KZ 1161.B63 2005

Legal Systems of the World:  A Political, Social, and Cultural Encyclopedia
Ready Ref K48.L44 2002 (4 vols.)

Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law
Ref JX 1226.P33 1986
Also available online; link through the JMU Catalog record.

Proceedings of the Annual Meeting: American Society of International Law
JX27.A5 1969-2011

Restatement of the Law (3rd).  The Foreign Relations Law of the United States. 2 vols. with supplement
Ref KF 4651.R47 1987).
These volumes contain opinions of the American Law Institute on international law as it applies to the United States, and domestic law that impacts on foreign relations.  Citations included.  Use the main set in conjunction with the cumulative supplement.

United States Practice in International Law
JMU has vol. 1 1999-2001 only, in e-book format available via JMU Catalog.

Yearbook of the United Nations 2006
Ref JX 1977.A34 Y4 2006.  Complete collection available online: https://unyearbook.un.org/

Treaties, Other Materials--Full-Text

International Legal Materials (online)
Serial publication; connect through JMU Catalog to JSTOR or use Periodical Locator.  Also available through LexisNexis Legal Research.  Bound volumes in print (1989-2010) located in Stack Level 3.

Treaties in Force: A List of Treaties and Other International Agreements of the U.S. (annual)
Ref JX 236 1929c.  Older years in stacks; current issue in Carrier Reference.  Also available online on the Dept of State website, with archive back to 1997.

U.N. Treaty Body Database.
See www.unhchr.ch/tbs/doc.nsf
Full-text document collection.

For historical treaty information, see the treaty section of Carrier Reference (Ref JX 121-231) for multi-volume works such as:

Major peace treaties of modern history, 1648-1967  Ref JX 121.I8

Treaties and other international agreements of the United States, 1776-1949 (Ref JX231.A32)

Finding Books

Use the JMU Catalog to search for books and media in the JMU Libraries.

Use WorldCat to extend your search beyond JMU to find books, media, and other sources that you may obtain via Interlibrary Loan.

Some useful Subject Headings for finding material in the JMU Catalog and in WorldCat

Environmental Law, International Maritime Law
International Law Sanctions, International Law
Intervention, International Law Sovereignty
Labor Laws & Legislation, International Treaties
Law and Globalization War, International Law
Law of the Sea

Research Databases

News and Current Events

Web Resources

Citation Help