Search by DOI or PubMed ID Number (full)
DOI stands for Document Object Identifier. This is a unique identifier that is assigned to an online journal article, online book or online book chapter. Most publishers assign these to their online content. A DOI can take you directly to an online resource, but JMU Libraries does not always have access at a publisher site.
Example DOI: 10.3390/ijms21031053
PMID is a unique identifier used in the PubMed database and can be used to look up abstracts in PubMed.
Example PMID: 32033398
Accessing Articles
Look for this button to find a link to full-text online, if available.
Look for this button to request an electronic copy of an article. Delivery is usually within 1 to 2 days if the journal is available at JMU, but may take longer if it must be ordered from another library.
Article Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text research database focused on complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
