Skip to main content

University Health Center: Online Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)

Gale Virtual Reference Library logo

Download Instructions: Entries in GVRL allow you to download individual entries as PDF files without creating an account.  You can also download stream an audio recording reading of the file or download an MP3 file reading of the article.  There is no loan period or checkout period for the individual entries.

Citation Support: Entries have Direct Export support to RefWorks. Use the Citation Tools button on the article reference page to complete the export.

Reference eBooks

Harrison's Manual of Medicine

The authority of Harrison'sin a full-color, carry-anywhere presentation Harrison's Manual of Medicine, 18 is a distillation of the most clinically relevant content of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Presented in full color, this authoritative guide focuses on diagnosis and treatment, with an emphasis on patient care. Features: Provides on-the-spot answers to common clinical problems Completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments Increased number of full-color illustrations

The Gale encyclopedia of mental health

Provides detailed information on mental disorders and conditions. Also features entries for prescription, alternative and over-the-counter drugs, as well as the various therapies used to treat mental disorders

The Gale encyclopedia of alternative medicine (GVRL)

Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy

Core Knowledge in Critical Care Medicine

This book provides a detailed review of state of the art knowledge on critical care topics as well as the latest research findings. It covers the core aspects in excellent detail, but is not so comprehensive as to make its daily use unfeasible. For each condition considered, discussion of the pathophysiology is integrated with observations on diagnosis and treatment in order to allow a deeper understanding. The book is scientifically based, with extensive references to published research. This will allow readers to investigate their individual interests further and will enable physicians to justify measures by providing a coherent, evidence-based strategy and relevant citations where needed. Core Knowledge in Critical Care Medicine will appeal to experienced practitioners as an aide-mémoire, but will also be of great value to a wide range of more junior staff wishing to complement their background knowledge with important facts applicable to everyday practice.

Oxford Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension

Fully revised and expanded for its second edition, the Oxford Handbook of Nephrology and Hypertension provides clear, concise information and practical guidance on the day-to-day management of patients with renal disease. It is the essential resource for all those working with renal patients,including specialist trainees in nephrology, foundation doctors, renal nurses and general practitioners. A vital practical guide for those on the wards, and a valuable resource for all those studying for exams, this is the must-have handbook of renal medicine.Based on the Oxford Textbook of Clinical Nephrology and companion to the Oxford Handbook of Dialysis, this handbook provides vital clinical knowledge on the full breadth of renal care. The chapters on AKI and CKD have been significantly expanded to represent their enhanced primacy in both primaryand secondary care. The recent shift in understanding from acute renal failure to AKI has led to fast-paced change, and this handbook has been specifically revised to ensure the reader is up-to-the-minute in this vital area of renal care. Renal transplantation has also greatly increased in volumeand complexity in recent years and a full chapter has been given to this important area, which has been thoroughly updated and greatly expanded.Comprehensive, easy-to-use, and concise, with a strong focus on practical advice, and detailed guidance on everything from common conditions to complex clinical care, this handbook ensures that the reader always has the information they need at their fingertips.

Evidence-Based Neurology

From an expert editor team drawn from the Cochrane Neurological Network, Evidence-Based Neurology provides specialists and those in training with the skills and knowledge to apply evidence-based practice in the clinical setting. fills the gap between guidelines and primary studies as well as between primary and secondary scientific medical literature summarizes the most recent and important findings on treatments for neurological patients measures the benefit and, when applicable, the risk of harm inherent in specific neurological interventions now includes new non-clinical topics of interest to neurologists such as education and research

Nutrition care manual

The Academy’s Nutrition Care Manual® (NCM/PNCM) products are internet-based diet manuals and professional practice manuals for Registered Dietitians, Dietetic Technicians Registered, and allied health professionals

Nutrition and Dietetics

Nutrition & Dietetics: Practice and Future Trends, Fifth Edition Includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access

The IOC Manual of Emergency Sports Medicine

The Manual focuses on the fieldside diagnosis and treatment of severe injuries and illnesses that can present at a sports event. It concentrates on basic diagnostic skills and treatment modalities as the sports physician has often limited diagnostic and treatment facilities available. Each chapter concentrates on an illness or anatomical injury and offers a structured diagnostic and therapeutic approach in this difficult pre-hospital environment. The chapters explain what problems are to be expected with specific conditions as well as which treatment plan should be implemented and how to evaluate and reassess those plans.