What is Peer Review?
Peer review is one way to evaluate the quality of an article. Use these slides to learn
- why peer review is important
- how to identify peer reviewed articles
Accessing Articles
Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Journal Articles
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull text for nursing and allied health journals; also includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- PsycNET This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Cross-search PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycTESTS, and PsycEXTRA at once. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and full text for scholarly journals focusing on nursing and allied health. - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndex with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to educational periodicals and unpublished documents available since 1966. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
Critical Reading Questions
- Article Evaluation HandoutKey questions to evaluate each section of original research studies (RCTs, cohort studies, etc)