Welcome!
This course guide is a quick resource for assignments in CHEM 287L-288L. Use the other tabs on this Chemistry subject guide to find journals and journal articles, books, and media related to chemistry, as well as other tools. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact your librarian.
Resources for Assignments in Organic Lab
You will need these sources to complete some of your lab assignments. See the box below for tutorials on using handbooks and encyclopedias as well.
- CAS Registry NumbersWhat CAS Registry numbers are and how they work.
- Materials Safety Data Sheet (MSDS)Data sheets with proper procedures for handling or working with substances, including information such as physical data, toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and more.
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowMonographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, as well as chemical structure searching and drawing tools.
- Lange's HandbookIncludes general data, figures, and tables on information broken down into 4 sections of chemistry: Inorganic, Organic, Spectroscopy, and General Information and Converstion Tables.
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical DictionaryA dictionary of chemical terms. Also contains information about Nobel scientists and Trademarked chemicals.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics by ISBN: 9781138561632Publication Date: 2018-06-14In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds (now over 20,000) and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.
Advanced Chemistry Resources
Not everything can be found in an article or structure. Sometimes you will need to investigate other types of information. Sometimes, this can be referred to as "grey literature." Grey literature most often refers to white papers or reports written for internal use by organizations. Another example is regulations published by government agencies. Finally, patents can also be helpful when searching the literature.
- Technical ReportsTechnical Reports are typically produced by governmental agencies.
- StandardsStandards are more common in Engineering than in Chemistry but they detail common conditions, rules, or processes/production methods. Standard issuing agencies include: IEEE, IEE, ANSI, ASTM, ISO or NIST, among others.
- EPA Test Methods"This Web site provides resources relating to "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods", also known as SW-846. This site contains updates about SW-846 and information about the development and approval process of SW-846 methods."
- Data Management at JMUAs more data is produced digitally, the preservation and access to those data becomes a challenge. This page will help faculty and students create data management plans in order to be in compliance with federal requirements and to help maintain the integrity and accessibility of research data.
- PatentsA patent is a grant of property rights to an inventor by a government. The inventor gets the exclusive right to use or manufacture an invention for monetary gain or to exclude others from making, using, or selling the invention in the country (or countries) whose government(s) issued the patent(s). Many patents are indexed in SciFinder Scholar.
