Need Help?
Frequently Used Resources
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
Popular Full-Text Collections
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Background Information
The Wiley-Blackwell Dictionary of Modern European History Since 1789 by Ebook. "An authoritative and accessible reference guide to the major people, events, and issues that have shaped the development of Europe from the French Revolution to the present day. Features almost a thousand alphabetical entries on modern European history Offers extensive cross-references to enhance clarity and reveal historical links and connections, and a series of maps charting the evolution of modern European states."
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowSubject specific research guides with annotated bibliographic lists of recommended books and articles.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects.
Related Research Guides
See the Primary Sources pages of these guides for recommendations of resources for finding primary sources.