Collection Development Librarian
The Cities
São Paulo, Brazil
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Mexico City, Mexico
Lima, Peru
Havana, Cuba
Bogotá, Colombia
Santiago de Chile
You may need to broaden your search strategy to the country or region as you research different topics.
The Latin America Readers series
- The Latin America Readers seriesA series of books on countries and cities that provide context and primary sources. Locations include Buenos Aires, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Brazil, Bolivia, Lima, Colombia, Rio de Janeiro, the Dominican Republic, Chile, Paraguay, Guatemala, and Ecuador.
Geographic Information
- Global Road Warrior This link opens in a new windowCountry cultural database containing detailed information on over 175 countries around the world; topics range from food, language, religion, to human rights issues, security briefings, and business etiquette.
- CIA World FactBookProvides information on the history, people, government, economy, and geography for world entities. Includes photos, maps, and flags.
- UNdataInformation from the United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) covering numerous topics from for every country in the world.
- World Urbanization Prospects Country ProfilesBy the United Nations, Department of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division.
- Metropolitan IndicatorsComparative city data on Metropolis members. Indicators include context and governance, economic development, social cohesion, gender equality, environmental sustainability, and quality of life.
Books and Articles
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada.
- GreenFile This link opens in a new windowBibliographic information for materials concerning environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
Current News Articles
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.