Humanities Librarian
Looking for full text?
- JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Selected Sources
- The Latinization of the Central Shenandoah ValleyArticle from International Migration.
- Covert Capital Landscapes of Denial and the Making of U.S. Empire in the Suburbs of Northern VirginiaEbook and print available.
Resilient Cultures: America's Native peoples confront European colonization, 1500-1800 by Ebook. "This book provides a comparative perspective of the impact of early European colonization on the native peoples of the Americas. It covers the character of the indigenous cultures before contact, and then addresses the impact of and creative ways in which they adapted to the establishment of colonies by the Spanish, Portuguese, French, Dutch, and English."
A Voyage Long and Strange: Rediscovering the New WorldOnline access. "Vikings, conquistadors, French voyageurs--these and many others roamed an unknown continent in quest of grapes, gold, converts, even a cure for syphilis. Though most failed, their remarkable exploits left an enduring mark on the land and people encountered by late-arriving English settlers."
- Latino America: A State-by-State EncyclopediaEbook. See the entry on Virginia for a chronology and overview.
Hispanic and Latino Heritage in VirginiaEbook. Written for a general audience.
Class, Ethnicity, Gender and Latino EntrepreneurshipEbook. "Drawing on surveys and in-depth interviews, this book examines the social and economic relations of first-generation Latino entrepreneurs." Includes coverage of the Washington DC area.
- Governor Northam Proclaims Hispanic and Latino Heritage Month in VirginiaRead the proclamation from September 17, 2020.
- National Hispanic American Heritage MonthHosted by the Library of Congress. See the "Exhibits and Collections" section for selected resources.
Lucas Vásquez de Ayllón and San Miguel de Guandape
- A New Andalucia and a Way to the Orient: the American Southeast during the Sixteenth CenturySee the "The Spaniards and a New Andalucia" section for several relevant chapters.
- First EncountersBook chapter from The Spanish Frontier in North America.
- The Iberian Atlantic and VirginiaA book chapter from The Atlantic World and Virginia, 1550-1624.
- The Age of ExplorationEntry from Encyclopedia Virginia. See the "The Spanish Move Toward Virginia" section.
- "The natives are white men"; an excerpt from De Orbe Novo by Peter Martyr d'Anghiera (1530)Primary source from Encyclopedia Virginia. "In this excerpt from an English translation of De Orbe Novo, originally published posthumously in Latin in 1530, the Italian historian Peter Martyr d'Anghiera tells the story of Lucas Vásquez de Ayllón, under whose partial auspices two ships in search of slaves sailed up the Atlantic coast of North America in July and August of 1521."
Demography
- Pew Research Center: Hispanic TrendsReports and data from a "fact tank." Also refer to the related "Data and Resources" tab of this section.
- Explore Census DataData from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes datasets from the American Community Survey.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A demographic research tool that includes over 220 years of data and enables the creation of customizable, interactive maps.
- Virginia Tourism Corperation: International TravelData from the state agency that markets Virginia to visitors.
Style and Language Guides
- Citing Sources: MLA ResourcesResources for making MLA style citations.
- Race-Related CoverageFrom the AP Stylebook site, the Associated Press provides guidance on writing about race.
- Who is Hispanic?Article from the Pew Research Center.
Explore More
- Virginia Newspapers in Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewspapers from Virginia through Access World News, dates of coverage varies by title.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journals covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. - JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source