Humanities Librarian
Library Resources
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.Try searching the phrase "Monroe Doctrine" with the subjects textbooks or study and teaching for examples from the history of education.
News
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowDigitized US newspaper pages from 1789-1963, as well as directory of information about historic newspapers published since 1690.
- New York Times: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 3 years ago.
- Washington Post: Historical This link opens in a new windowFull page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue to about 15 years ago.
Selected Sources by Topic
Rebellion in Patagonia by Ebook. "Adapted into an internationally acclaimed feature film in 1974, Osvaldo Bayer's popular and well regarded history Patagonia Rebelde was banned and publicly burned in Argentina during the 1970s. It is a gripping tale of struggle, strength, and tragedy. A nuanced study of strikes led by the powerful anarcho-syndicalist labour union FORA against the despotic landowners and industrialists of Argentina's Patagonia region in 1921-1922, it has come to be regarded as the definitive history of its subject."
Women, Feminism and Social Change in Argentina, Chile, and Uruguay, 1890-1940 by Ebook. "Feminists in the Southern Cone countries--Argentina, Chile, and Uruguay--between 1910 and 1930 obliged political leaders to consider gender in labor regulation, civil codes, public health programs, and politics... Although feminists did not present a unified front in the discussion of divorce, reproductive rights, and public-health schemes to regulate sex and marriage, this work identifies feminism as a trigger for such discussion, which generated public and political debate on gender roles and social change."
The Case of the Ugly Suitor and Other Histories of Love, Gender, and Nation in Buenos Aires, 1776-1870 by Ebook and print. "In the courtrooms of nineteenth-century Buenos Aires, children battled parents in order to fulfill their romantic desires and marry the mate of their choice... Examining family conflicts and the political and legal backdrop of those cases reveals strong continuities in attitudes about gender and family. At the same time, ideological influences of the revolutionary movement combined with the practical needs of nation building to create new freedoms and new identities for women and children over the course of the nineteenth century."
Sex and Danger in Buenos Aires: Prostitution, Family, and Nation in Argentina by Ebook. "A study of prostitution necessarily examines questions of power, class, gender, and public health... During most of the time covered in this provocative book, from the late nineteenth century well into the twentieth, prostitution was legal in Argentina. Fears and anxieties concerning the effect of female sexual commerce on family and nation were rampant."
Tango and the Political Economy of Passion by Ebook. "Explores the politics of tango, tracing tango's travels from the brothels of Buenos Aires to the cabarets of Paris and the shako dansu clubs of Tokyo... Unravels relations between machismo and colonialism, postmodernism and patriarchy, exoticism and commodification."
- Victoria Ocampo and the CinemaJournal article. Include a reference to a movie script about Felicitas Guerrero.
The Women of Colonial Latin America by Ebook and print. "In this second edition of her acclaimed volume, The Women of Colonial Latin America, Susan Migden Socolow has revised substantial portions of the book - incorporating new topics and illustrative cases that significantly expand topics addressed in the first edition; updating historiography; and adding new material on poor, rural, indigenous and slave women."
Hemispheric Imaginings: The Monroe Doctrine and Narratives of U.S. Empire by Ebook and print. "Presenting fiction and popular journalism as key arenas in which such inconsistencies were challenged or obscured, Murphy highlights the major role writers played in shaping conceptions of the U.S. empire. Murphy juxtaposes close readings of novels with analyses of nonfiction texts. From uncovering the literary inspirations for the Monroe Doctrine itself to tracing visions of hemispheric unity and transatlantic separation in novels by Lydia Maria Child, Nathaniel Hawthorne, María Amparo Ruiz de Burton, Lew Wallace, and Richard Harding Davis, she reveals the Doctrine's forgotten cultural history."
The Monroe Doctrine in a Contemporary Perspective by Ebook. "Modeste examines the elastic interpretations of the Monroe Doctrine to justify American territorial expansion and imperial ambitions, premised on a strategic question - the power controlling the Latin American/Caribbean trade routes and Sea Lines of Communication. Fundamental to the narrative is the linkage of the tenets of the Monroe Doctrine to contemporary local/regional crises where governments have applied extraordinary, extra-constitutional measures to exercise control or achieve political ends, mechanisms of peaceful conflict resolution failures, and subversive elements that use unorthodox methods to threaten the integrity of the state."
The Monroe Doctrine: Empire and Nation in Nineteenth-Century America by Print. "Covering more than a century of history, this engaging book explores the varying conceptions of the doctrine as its meaning evolved in relation to the needs of an expanding American empire... Provides a new lens from which to view the paradox at the center of American diplomatic history: the nation's interdependent traditions of anticolonialism and imperialism."
- Monroe Doctrine: Primary Documents in American HistoryFrom the Library of Congress. Includes recommendations for digital collections, external websites, and print resources. See also a search for the Monroe Doctrine from their items available online.
- Monroe Doctrine (1823)Transcript from the National Archives.
- Theodore Roosevelt's Corollary to the Monroe Doctrine (1905)Transcript from the National Archives.
History textbooks
From “Library Resources” box above, see the HathiTrust to search for the Monroe Doctrine in the full text of textbooks and teaching materials. For other historic examples of history textbooks available online, you can browse these results from the Harvard University catalog and the 19th Century Schoolbooks collection from the University of Pittsburg Library System. You can then search individual titles for occurrences of the Monroe Doctrine.