Research Guides: HM 111: Overview of Hospitality and Tourism Management: Research companies

Key resources

Always start your research into a company by reading the relevant IBISWorld Industry report and reviewing your geographic competitors.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry market research reports of more than 700 United States industries; includes US Specialized Industry Reports, East Coast State Reports, and iExpert Summaries.
Data Axle Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Directory of U.S. businesses (key personnel, locations, credit rating, sales, subsidiaries, etc).

These JMU databases contain articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, trade journals, newspapers and industry reports.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journals covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index with some full text pertaining to sports, recreation, exercise physiology, sports medicine, coaching, physical fitness, etc.

International Directory of Company Histories
Provides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.

The U.S. tracks economic activity across industries using NAICS codes. This video explains how to use NAICS codes to search.