Latin American, Latinx, & Caribbean Studies

From the Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials (SALALM)."This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title." Can be challenging to navigate. Use a search engine to try locating any sources with broken links.

A series of books on countries and cities that provide context and primary sources. Locations include Buenos Aires, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Brazil, Bolivia, Lima, Colombia, Rio de Janeiro, the Dominican Republic, Chile, Paraguay, Guatemala, and Ecuador.

"The heart of the collection is the recordings, both audio and video, in a wide range of genres: narratives, chants, oratory, conversations, songs, and more. Many recordings are transcribed and translated into Spanish, English or Portuguese. The archive also contains a wealth of language documentation materials: grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes. The collection includes teaching materials for bilingual education and language revitalization programs. We are committed to serving the Indigenous Peoples of Latin America and the scholars who study their languages."

"An open access collection of pre-twentieth-century Caribbean texts, maps, and images. Texts include travel narratives, novels, poetry, natural histories, and diaries that have not been brought together before as a single collection focused on the Caribbean."

"Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua. Many pertain to national and local politics and include election materials, political manifestos, and government pronouncements."

A collaboration across institutions. "Provides users free and open access to Caribbean cultural, historical, scientific and research materials held in archives, libraries, museums, private collections, and other institutions of memory and preservation."

"The site aims to serve as an online bibliography that points scholars to resources for the study of sports and recreational activities across the continent. Not all of the items in the site are digitized and in open access."

"Primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and the UFW Volunteers who worked with Cesar Chavez to build his farmworker movement." Presented by the UC San Diego Library.

Radio episodes and related documents digitized by Indiana University. "This program sought to foster understanding between North America and Central and South America, another part of Welles’s war efforts. Sponsored by the U.S. Office of the Coordinator of Inter-American Affairs."

Works by a Mexican artist and printer. "The collection includes broadsides, pamphlets, and prints. Subject matter includes stories, politics, religious events, and folklore."

From the Harvard Library. "Scarce and unique pamphlets, primarily from Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico, published during the 19th and early 20th centuries."

Projects and initiatives by the Benson Latin American Collection and LLILAS (Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies) at the University of Texas at Austin.

Hosted by the Library of Congress. See the "Exhibits and Collections" section for selected resources.

"Project STAND is a radical grassroots archival consortia project between colleges and universities around the country; to create a centralized digital space highlighting analog and digital collections emphasizing student activism in marginalized communities." There are African American, Asian American, Latinx, LGBTQ, and women's rights collections.

This multifaceted tool places art works from the Metropolitan Museum's collection within geographical and chronological context. It has excellent thematic essays (background information) that cover the historical eras and cultures that produced the works of art (the primary sources), along with maps and key events from each place and time period.

Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1860s to today.

(Spanish language) Listen to recordings of Radio Venceremos, a rebel radio station during the Salvadoran Civil War.

Reports and data from a "fact tank."

Data from the U.S. Census Bureau. Includes datasets from the American Community Survey.

Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. Back volumes are in process of digitization, with some searchable content available back to the 1950s and up to the mid-1970s. JMU has older volumes in print and/or on microform.

From the CIA. Includes CREST (CIA Records Search Tool), a database of declassified CIA documents.

From a legacy site by George Washington University. These briefing books provide context and resources on declassified records on U.S. foreign policy. A few of the topics include communications with Cuba, the Cuban missile crisis, dictatorship in Chile, Chiquita papers, and Operation Condor.

From the Wilson Center Digital Archive. "Cuban documents about Havana's policy toward Southern Africa in the final fifteen years of the Cold War."

"Listen to audio recordings of prominent writers from Latin America, the Iberian Peninsula, the Caribbean, and other regions with Luso-Hispanic heritage populations reading from their works at the Library of Congress." Hundreds of recordings available online.

"Explores the spatial landscape of colonial monuments and statues in Puerto Rico and the Caribbean."

Access to digitized maps from the Library of Congress.

Access to maps from research libraries around the world. You may search a place and a time period to find high-resolution maps.

"Local newsfilm and special programs relating to César Chávez, the United Farm Workers union and agricultural workers, from the 1960s & 70s."

Part of the Digital Library of the Caribbean. "Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."

Five historic newspapers online through Chronicling America by the Library of Congress.

Six historic newspapers online through Chronicling America by the Library of Congress.

Over 20 historic newspapers online through Chronicling America by the Library of Congress.

Eleven historic newspapers online through Chronicling America by the Library of Congress.

From the University of Florida. "Includes newspapers, yearbooks, scholarly journals, magazines, bulletins, newsletters, and periodicals published in Cuba, the United States, and other countries. The majority of these serials date from the 19th and 20th centuries, and the contents cover a broad variety of topics such as politics, science, religion, entertainment, literature, history, arts, and culture."

From the University of Arizona. "The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s."

From the Center for Research Libraries. This index links to historic newspaper digitization projects from around the world. Some projects are freely available and others require a subscription.

"An open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."