Looking for full text?
- JournalsUse the Journals tool to look for our access to journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)Request articles, books, and other materials not in the JMU Libraries.
Selected Journals
The following journals focus on museum studies, theory, and practice, or frequently contain relevant content. Stay up to date in this field by reading new articles in these titles.
- APT BulletinThe journal from the Association for Preservation Technology International (APT).
- Conservation Perspectives, The GCI NewsletterThe newsletter of The Getty Conservation Institute.
- The American Historical ReviewThe official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA).
- Historical ArchaeologyThe journal of The Society for Historical Archaeology.
- Common Ground: Preserving Our Nation's HeritageA newsletter from the National Park Service. This journal stopped publication in 2001.
- CRM: The Journal of Heritage StewardshipJournal from the National Park Service. Only from 2003-2011.
Indexes
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text journals, books, and other published resources pertaining to the humanities from around the world. - Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts for topics in librarianship, including classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- OmniFile Full Text Mega This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and some full text covering all subjects, including humanities and social sciences.
Full-Text Journal Collections
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull online text and images for back issues of selected scholarly journals and monographs in history, economics, political science, anthropology, sociology, literature, etc.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An index of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. - Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowFull text for journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences.