Need Help?
Frequently Used Resources
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of magazines covering fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source
Background Information
Invitation to Vernacular Architecture by Invitation to Vernacular Architecture: A Guide to the Study of Ordinary Buildings and Landscapes is a manual for exploring and interpreting vernacular architecture, the common buildings of particular regions and time periods.
Houses Without Names by This handbook provides a working vocabulary for the study and appreciation of America's common houses.
Government Publications
- Preservation BriefsProvided by the National Park Service, these briefs cover many technical aspects of historic preservation and renovation.
- National Register of Historic Places PublicationsThese bulletins from the National Park Service cover the basics of doing research on historic places to outlines of how to complete a historic register form for various property types.
Selected Organizations
Organizations and associations often determine best practices, organize and facilitate research, and serve as hubs of information about careers, continuing education, and scholarship opportunities. Visit their websites to stay up to date on current topics and issues within this field.