Need Help?
Frequently Used Resources
- JMU Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowFind journals, books, ebooks, films, sound recordings, and government documents available to JMU users.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Catalog of over 62 million titles cataloged by libraries worldwide that includes manuscripts written as early as the 1000 B.C., books, audio visual media, and internet source - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index with abstracts to more than 1,800 journals in 40 languages on world history from 1450 to the present; excludes the US and Canada. - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines. - Art & Architecture Archive This link opens in a new windowA full-text archive of magazines covering fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndex and abstracts for topics in librarianship, including classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA compilation of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences that helps users learn various research methodologies.
Background Information
Public History: A Textbook of Practice by "Either in public history methods courses or as a resource for practicing public historians, this book lays the groundwork for making meaningful connections between historical sources and popular audiences."
A Companion to Public History by "An authoritative overview of the developing field of public history reflecting theory and practice around the globe."
An American Association for State and Local History by "Gain insight into history organizations of all shapes and sizes in this book, which addresses the opportunities and challenges of public historians' work through the prism of the past, present, and future of our communities and institutions, as well as the public history field itself."
Public History: A Practical Guide by "The 2nd edition of Public History- A Practical Guide provides a fresh examination of history as practiced in its various worldly guises and contexts. It analyses the many skills that historians require in the practice of public history and looks at how a range of actors, including museums, archives, government agencies, community history societies and the media/digital media, make history accessible to a wider audience in a variety of ways."
