It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ebook. "A new and expanded edition of a highly successful textbook on world religions with a comparative approach which explores how six major religions are lived and expressed through their customs, rituals and everyday practices." Religions include Buddhism, Christianity, Daoism, Hinduism, Islam, and Judaism. Themes include image, book, ethics, birth, death, marriage, food, clothing, year, building, and journey.
Ebook. "Gudorf's work focuses on common, everyday issues--including food and diet, work, sex and marriage, proper dress, anger and violence, charity, family, and infirmity and the elderly--while drawing out ethical implications of each and demonstrating how different religious traditions prescribe rules for action."
Print. Visit the Internet Archive to determine online availability. "Presents eighteen original cases that discuss ethical issues of diverse peoples and religions situated around the world. Each case is followed by two commentaries that explore the relevant issues from the perspective of two different religious traditions."
Print. Visit the Internet Archive to determine online availability. "Commonalities have considerable implications for our understanding of religion and its interrelationships with politics and culture in a postcolonial world."
Print. Visit the Internet Archive to determine online availability. "Fingarette- who thinks the best way to discover Confucius's teaching is by taking him at his word- uses original text as his principal resource in an effort to try to see what it says, what it implies and what it does not say or need not imply."
Ebook. "Examines abortion as a window on the culture and ethics of Japan... Contributes to the Western debate on abortion, exploring how the Japanese resolve their conflicting emotions privately and avoid the pro-life/pro-choice politics that sharply divide Americans on the issue."
Ebook. "Introduces Confucianism as a whole, with 1,235 entries giving full information on its history, doctrines, schools, rituals, sacred places and terminology, and on the adaptation, transformation and new thinking taking place in China and other Eastern Asian countries."
"The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence."
"Religion News Service (RNS) is an independent, nonprofit and award-winning source of global news on religion, spirituality, culture and ethics, reported by a staff of professional journalists. Founded in 1934, RNS seeks to inform readers with objective reporting and insightful commentary, and is relied upon by secular and faith-based news organizations in a number of countries."
Full access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website. Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures. Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account
Contains over 25,000 videos, documentaries, training films, theatrical releases, and more.
Note: the login/sign up buttons at the top right of the Kanopy interface are for creating and logging in to personal accounts. It is not necessary to log in to view films if you're on campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in as a JMU user when you select a film. Browse "Religion & Philosophy" under the subject "Social Sciences."