Background or foundational sources
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA compilation of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences that helps users learn various research methodologies.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new windowStreaming video tutorials on over 2,000 courses in 3D animation, audio, business, CAD, design, development, photography, video creation, web design, and more.
Note: First time users can get started with these instructions. - Dissertations & Theses: Global This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and full text for doctoral dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward.
Encyclopedia of Measurement and StatisticsCall Number: e-bookISBN: 9781412916110Publication Date: 2007
Research Methods for Sport ManagementCall Number: GV713 .S573 2015ISBN: 9780415572569Publication Date: 2014Through the use of examples, cases and data taken from the real world of sport management it opens up a traditionally dry area of study, helping the student to understand the vital importance of sound methodology in their studies and subsequent professional practice.
Handbook of Research on Sport and BusinessCall Number: GV716 .H36 2015ISBN: 9781782544876Publication Date: 2015Identifies research themes from governance to branding, from sport events to sport systems, and from social media to fan identity, and they specifically reflect on the application of major theoretical concepts and key research methods.
Handbook of Statistical Methods and Analyses in SportsISBN: 9781498737364Publication Date: 2016This handbook will provide both overviews of statistical methods in sports and in-depth treatment of critical problems and challenges confronting statistical research in sports.
Routledge International Handbook of Sport PsychologyISBN: 9781317692317Publication Date: 2016Tthe book traces the contours of the discipline of sport psychology, introducing fundamental theory, discussing key issues in applied practice, and exploring the most important themes, topics and debates across the sport psychology curriculum.
Encyclopedia of Sports Medicine by Call Number: AE5 .S244 Internet
Routledge Handbook of Youth SportCall Number: E-bookISBN: 9780415840033Publication Date: 2016A comprehensive survey of the latest research into young people's involvement in sport. Drawing on a wide diversity of disciplines, including sociology, psychology, policy studies, coaching, physical education and physiology, the book examines the importance of sport during a key transitional period of our lives, from the later teenage years into the early 20s.
New resources in sport recreation management
Sports Crazy
Sports Crazy: How Sports Are Sabotaging American Schools exposes the excesses of middle and high school sports and the detrimental effects our sports obsession has on American education.
Managing Sport Events
Running a successful sporting event--whether it's a local event, state championship, or international competition--requires the knowledge and skills to plan, organize, promote, lead, and communicate effectively.
LGBT Athletes in the Sports Media
This edited collection combines studies of gender and sexuality with that of the sports media to provide the first-ever comprehensive academic overview of LGBT athletes in the sports media.
Sports Finance and Management
As the sport business continues to evolve, so too, does Sport Finance and Management. This second edition updates each of these elements, introduces relevant case study examples in new chapters, and examines the impact of changes in facility design, media opportunities, and league and conference policies on the economic success of teams, the salaries earned by professional players, and the finances of collegiate athletics.
Mindfulness and Acceptance in Sport
This book brings together highly experienced practitioners and shares their working methods, exercises, and cases to inspire the sport psychology profession.
Sports, Society, and Technology
Sports, Society, and Technology: Bodies, Practices, and Knowledge Production addresses the complex entanglements of science, technology, and sporting cultures.
Video Technology in Refereeing
The Use of Video Technologies in Refereeing Football and Other Sports analyses the capacity of audio-visual technology from different perspectives to help understand the best implementation of the Video Assistant Referee (VAR) system in football and, more generally, in other sports.
Sporting Gender
In Sporting Gender: The History, Science, and Stories of Transgender and Intersex Athletes, Joanna Harper provides an in-depth examination of why gender diverse athletes are so controversial.
Researching Difference in Sport and Physical Activity
Researching Difference in Sport and Physical Activity goes beyond the content of introductory research methods texts to provide an insight into the methodological hurdles that are experienced when researching.
Organizational Behavior in Sport
Organizational Behavior in Sport Management fills a gap in sport management literature by exploring the key organizational behavior topics in sport organization settings. The text covers issues such as diversity, ethics, values, behavior, leadership, and much more.
Search for additional books
You can search for additional new books on sports recreation management topics.
Try searching these terms as a title or subject:
- Sports (subheadings include Sports— Economic aspects, History, Law and legislation, Management, Marketing, Physiological aspects, Psychological aspects, Social aspects, Study and teaching)
- Sports administration
- Sports facilities
- Sports sciences; Physical fitness; Exercise
- Sports injuries; Sports medicine
- Physical education and training
- Physiology