Is this article from a peer-reviewed journal?
A “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” journal is one in which articles are reviewed by other scholars before being accepted for publication. The reviewers may suggest improvements that must be made before the article can be published. This form of quality control is essential to the scholarly process. Most, but not all, scholarly journals are peer-reviewed.
Use to Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory (also called Ulrichsweb) to search for a journal by title. If the journal is refereed (peer-reviewed) there will be a small icon of a black and white striped shirt (referee’s uniform) next to the title on the list of search results. Click the title to read more about the journal. This screen should say “Refereed: Yes”.
Examine your article and make sure it isn't a letter, news story, book review, or opinion piece. These kinds of articles are not peer-reviewed, but appear in peer-reviewed publications.
Check our Notices & Alerts
Check our 
Scholarly journal articles & news articles
Sport & Recreation
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Scholarly journals, trade journals and magazines related to sports and recreation topics.
Dates covered: 1949-present - Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content types: Peer-reviewed journals, reports, magazines, news sources related to sport, coaching, and health education.
Dates covered: 1970-present - Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines about media, advertising and marketing (including sports media).
Dates covered: 1949-present - Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Scholarly journals, trade journals related to food & beverage management, hotel management, leisure & business travel, etc.
Dates covered: 1960s-present
Education & Psychology
- ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Scholarly journals, reports, trade journals
Dates covered: 1966 to present - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Scholarly journals and books
Dates covered: Current - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1872-present
Media & Business
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Peer-reviewed journals, industry and market research reports, magazines, news sources, SWOTS
Dates covered: 1922-present - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Business news sources, company press releases and reports
Dates covered: Current - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Current news, company information, foreign language news, broadcast transcripts
Dates covered: Current - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Scholarly journals about social development, social psychology, social work, and other sociology topics
Dates covered: 1895-present
Health
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Scholarly journals, trade publications, books, standards of practice, and selected conference proceedings.
Dates covered: 1937-present - PubMed This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Scholarly journals, practitioner journals in medicine, nursing, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences
Dates covered: 1960s-present
Market Research Reports
- Sports Market Analytics This link opens in a new windowContent types: Market research and industry news related to sporting goods and sports marketing industry.
Dates covered: 1996-present - Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowContent types: Market data and forecasting for consumer industries in U.S.
Dates covered: Current - IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Market research on more than 700 U.S. industries.
Dates covered: Current
Entertainment & Leisure Business Market Research (RKMA handbook)From airshows to zoos, this handbook provides market research data on the leisure. Requires Pulse Secure for off-campus access. Click the "S" icon to the right of the title link to learn more.
Sports Marketing (RKMA handbook)Consumer research on U.S. sports and e-sports markets. Requires Pulse Secure for off-campus access. Click the "S" icon to the right of the title link to learn more.
Often, simply searching the title of an article in quotation marks in Google Scholar will bring you to the electronic version.
Follow these steps to link Google Scholar to JMU libraries. Then you should be able to click Get JMU Access to open the article.
This video shows how to identify the journal title from a citation.
If JMU doesn't have access to the full-text of the article, we can borrow it from another library -- at no cost to you. Interlibrary Loan is a service for requesting articles and other materials that are not available in JMU Libraries collections. All students, faculty, and staff with a valid JMU e-ID can use Interlibrary Loan services.
Our ILL team can retrieve the articles you need within a few days -- and sometimes within just a few hours!
- Interlibrary LoanRequest books, journal articles, and other materials NOT available in the JMU Libraries.