Sport & Recreation Management Librarian
Journals
The below is a select list of peer-reviewed journals, which are publications that contain research articles. Each journal publishes new issues multiple times a year.
Sociology of Sport JournalThe official Journal of the North American Society for the Sociology of Sport, published four times a year (March, June, September, December). Offers original research, framed by social theory, on exercise, sport, physical culture, and the (physically active) body. Analyses from diverse theoretical and methodological perspectives are encouraged to stimulate further research, critical thought, and theory development on topics ranging in broad scope from global professional sport, coaching, commercial exercise/fitness, and recreational physical activity.
International Review for the Sociology of SportThe official journal of the International Sociology of Sport Association disseminates research on sport throughout the international academic community without restriction to any theoretical or methodological perspective and brings together contributions from anthropology, cultural studies, geography, gender studies, media studies, history, political economy, semiotics, sociology, as well as interdisciplinary research.
European Journal for Sport and SocietyThe journal enables an international discussion about current socio-cultural and sociological issues in sport, and fosters collaboration between researchers from the sociology of sport and related academic sub-disciplines.
The International Journal of Sport and SocietyThe journal provides a forum for wide-ranging and interdisciplinary examination of sport, including: the history, sociology, and psychology of sport; sports medicine and health; physical and health education; and sports administration and management. The discussions in the journal range from broad conceptualizations of the fundamental logic of sport, to highly localized readings of sporting practices in particular times and places.
Research Databases
These databases search across thousands of journals and scholarly books.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines related to sports, recreation, etc.
Dates covered: 1892-present - SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content types: Abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, dissertations, etc. related to sociology.
Dates covered: 1895-present - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Abstracts to journal articles in psychology. The Check for Full Text @ JMU buttons will connect you to full-text, if it's available.
Dates covered: 1872-present
Database search tips
JMU's databases of scholarly articles require different search strategies from Google.
Search strategies
Boolean terms
AND- Searches for both terms in the same record
OR- Searches for records with either term
Not- Excludes records with that search term
Wildcards
* Searches for words with alternative endings. Ex: behav* = behavior, behave
? Represents a single character, anywhere in the word: Ex: analy?e
“...” Searches for records with the exact phrase
Can I use Google Scholar to find articles?
Yes, of course! Academic researchers do all the time. But be aware of its benefits ...
- Allows you to search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, not just a single database.
- Suggests related articles, who else has cited this work
- Frequently the fastest way to track down an article by citation
... and limitations
- Not all articles returned are available full-text through JMU Libraries
- Not all articles are peer-reviewed ( and there's no way to filter)
- Less precise results than you’ll get using a specialized database
Find a particular article using a citation
Often, simply searching the title of an article in quotation marks in Google Scholar will bring you to the electronic version.
Alternatively, search for the journal title using the "Find a peer-reviewed journal by title" box below.
This video shows how to identify the journal title from an article citation.
If we don't have full-text available, request it free* from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
*Occasionally, items require a fee. You can cancel the request.