Scholarly Articles
Some of these databases contain only scholarly journals, but others include books, government reports, and popular newspaper and magazine articles. It is up to you to choose resources that are appropriate for your assignment.
See the Types of Sources tab on this guide for more information about different kinds of articles.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- BioOne This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text journal collection focused on the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. - History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowBibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cross-search 30 ProQuest resources in the biological sciences. Includes resources in animal behavior, ecology, endocrinology, genetics, microbiology, neurosciences, plant science, toxicology, and more. - ProQuest Materials Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles related to materials science and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database - PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
News Articles
These databases contain news written for the general public. They are not considered scholarly.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowFull text collection of international and local news sources.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, and more.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 80 regional US and Canadian business publications, newspapers, and newswires.
Finding Articles
Use these buttons if you already know of an article that you want.
Get JMU access for articles available online through JMU databases.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) can request copies of articles not available at JMU.