Background Information
Finding background information in a specialized reference work at the beginning of your research is especially important if you are unfamiliar with the subject area, need to focus or narrow your topic or are not sure from what angle to approach your research.
Specialized dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks or even books can provide background information/broad overview on your topic, keywords or concepts that relate to your topic and reference lists that help you find additional resources.
Online Reference Sources
-
Gale Virtual Reference LibrarySearchable online reference book collection covering all subjects from the arts to zoology.
-
Oxford Reference OnlineDatabase of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects.
-
MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, which is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Presents high-quality, relevant health and wellness information that is trusted, easy to understand, and free of advertising, in both English and Spanish.
Examples of Kinesiology-Related Reference Books
-
The Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 9781410379764Publication Date: 2017A comprehensive and easy-to-use reference source with a collection of fitness topics ranging from sports, body systems, the body's. -
Musculoskeletal, sports, and occupational medicine
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1933864494Publication Date: 2011Provides the core knowledge the busy practitioner needs to deliver top-notch rehabilitative care to patients with musculoskeletal, sports, or occupational injuries. -
Measurement and evaluation in physical activity applications : exercise science, physical education, coaching, athletic training, and health
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: ISBN 9780815392255Publication Date: 2019accessible, student-friendly introduction to the principles and practice of measurement in physical activity. -
The muscle test handbook : functional assessment, myofascial trigger points and meridian relationships
by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 0702037397Publication Date: 2013Describes Professional Applied Kinesiology muscle testing procedures -
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by
Call Number: Available onlineISBN: 1414403747Publication Date: 2006Entries cover topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment. The Encyclopedia covers all major health professions, including nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy, medical lab technology, emergency medical technology, dental assistance, pharmacology and nutrition.