Liaison Librarian
Background Information
Click on any of the tabs above to access the resources
Social Work & Related Fields
- Encyclopedia of Social WorkThe new Encyclopedia of Social Work from the National Association of Social Workers Press and Oxford University Press contains hundreds of overview articles and biographies. The resource is updated monthly.
- DSM-5 Library (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders) This link opens in a new windowA set of searchable, full-text reference works for psychiatric diagnosis.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Social Work This link opens in a new windowBibliographic articles on the most recent theories, research, discoveries, and interpretations in the field.
- Encyclopedia of social work with groups (full text online or ebook download)With 110 articles and entries, this book provides a comprehensive overview of social work with groups from its initial development to its astounding range of diverse practice today with many populations in different places.
- Dictionary of Social WorkThis is a useful reference work provides snapshots of issues and their implications for practice and policy on a wide range of key concepts and terms used in social work, social care, law and health services.
- Dictionary of Social Work and Social CareThis dictionary provides A-Z definitions of terms from the broad field of social care. Accessible coverage of social work theories, methods, policies, organizations, and statutes, as well as key terms from interdisciplinary topics such as health and education, make this an ideal reference for students as well as qualified social workers
- Encyclopedia of social welfare history in North America (Online)Provides basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States.
- Encyclopedia of disability (online)This five-volume set attempts to define the many components of disability, from the medical, psychological, economic technological, cultural, sociological, policy and legal perspectives.
- Encyclopedia of Homelessness (online)The 'Encyclopedia of Homelessness' is the first systematic effort to organize and summarize what we know about this complex topic which impacts not only on the homeless but all of society.
- Encyclopedia of Sex and GenderAddresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
General & Multidisciplinary Background Resources
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new windowSecondary and primary sources concerning current social issues, such as gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, the environment, and terrorism, containing everything from biographies to court cases and magazine articles.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowFull-text encyclopedias back to 2002 on subjects ranging from African American Studies to Sociology.
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video content designed to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy.
- thesaurus.comFor over 20 years, Thesaurus.com has been helping millions of people improve their mastery of the English language and find the precise word with over 3 million synonyms and antonyms.
Research Method Books & More
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowA compilation of books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos from across the social sciences that helps users learn various research methodologies.
- SAGE Research Methods Cases This link opens in a new windowCollection of case studies of real social research designed to help users understand methods in practice.
- Qualitative methods for practice researchThis book uses qualitative methods to engage practitioners as knowledge producers. In particular, theory-to-practice gaps are described as indispensable conditions for conducting research that matters in worlds of practice. Practitioners are encouraged to lead research by conducting engaged scholarship, which promotes collaboration between practitioners and researchers to address practice-related problems in real world settings.
- Qualitative Methods in Social Work ResearchQualitative Methods in Social Work Research provides accessible, how-to instruction for carrying out qualitative research
- Research methods for social workA key book about research methods in social work practice, covering both quantitative and qualitative methods.
- An Author's guide to Social WorkThis volume describes over 200 social work journals, arranged by subject, and includes the journal descriptions and detailed information for each title
Printed Reference Books
- Human Services DictionaryWritten as a reference for human service professionals and students preparing for exams, this book is a useful for anyone in the human services field
- Dictionary of Eldercare TerminologyThis dictionary is a comprehensive guide to the language of eldercare.
- Disabilities SourcebookProvides basic consumer health information about physical, sensory, cognitive, and learning disabilities, along with facts about assistive devices, technologies, and related services to promote independence, and guidance for families.
- Handbook of communication and people with disabilitiesHandbook of communication and people with disabilities : research and application
is a collection of research on communication and people with disabilities - American social leaders and activistsContains short biographies of more than 285 American social leaders and activists from colonial times to the present
- Social workers' desk referenceThis comprehensive, practical resource covers assessment and diagnosis, clinical social work, marital and family therapy, community practice, case management and forensic social work, and each of the 146 chapters provides practice guidelines and treatment plans necessary for success
- The handbook of community practiceA comprehensive guidebook of community practice grounded in social justice and human rights
- Alcohol and temperance in modern history : an international encyclopediaA comprehensive encyclopedia on all aspects of the production, consumption, and social impact of alcohol.
- The early intervention dictionary : a multidisciplinary guide to terminologyThe Early Intervention Dictionary defines hundreds of medical, therapeutic, and educational terms commonly used in the early intervention field.