Liaison Librarian
Before You Start
Consider the following before starting to search for measurement instruments.
Published vs.
Unpublished Tests
Published tests or measurements are available for purchase from the test publisher. Certification or permission from the publisher and author(s) might be required to use these tests.
Unpublished tests or measurements are not available commercially but might be included in articles, studies and dissertations. These tests are also under copyright and you should request permission to use these tests by contacting the author(s).
Be Patient
Finding a test or measurement instrument can be challenging at times and requires patience. You will likely need to consult several different resources, online databases and books but don't give up. If you need additional help please contact your liaison librarian.
Content adapted from the University of Michigan and the JMU Strategic Leadership Studies: Find tests/measures page.
Finding Tests & Measures
Browse for Tests
Browse Index of Tests
- PsycTESTS This link opens in a new windowContains psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Focuses primarily on unpublished tests developed by researchers.
- HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowDescriptions of behavioral tests and measurements in health fields, psychosocial sciences.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowDescriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized tests.
- "Science of Behavior Change" Measures RepositoryThe SOBC Repository is the source for behavioral science measures that have been validated (or are in the process of being validated) in accordance with the SOBC Experimental Medicine Approach.
Browse Research Literature
You can find tests on your topic through articles about studies that are similar to yours.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An index with abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (sociology, linguistics, anthropology, education, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology). - Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles about social work, and registered social workers (Limited to 4 simultaneous users).
- Dissertations & Theses: Global This link opens in a new windowIndex with abstracts and full text for doctoral dissertations and master's theses published from 1980 forward.
Find a Test Review
Test reviews can be found in reference works and in journal articles.
Remember that not every test will have a published review.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new windowDescriptive information and critical reviews of more than 2,000 commercially-available standardized tests.
- HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) This link opens in a new windowDescriptions of behavioral tests and measurements in health fields, psychosocial sciences.
Resources About the Field of Measurement
- Encyclopedia of Measurement and StatisticsState-of-the-art information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics.
- Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral ScienceComplete coverage of current statistical methods ranging through confirmatory factor analysis, structural equation modeling, random effect/multilevel modeling, generalized linear models, computationally intensive methods such as the bootstrap, and many more.