Have a Question? Ask Me!
Biography Databases
- Biographies in ContextA comprehensive database of biographical information on over 480,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowBiographies of 55,000 deceased men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past from the earliest times and all walks of life.
- American National Biography This link opens in a new windowA biographical resource for notable people in American history.
Historical & Biographical Reference Books
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing by Call Number: RT31 .S66 1999ISBN: 1576070867Publication Date: 1999-10-25This unique reference work traces the story of nursing from Roman times to the present, including the evolution of military nursing.American Nursing by
ISBN: 082408540XPublication Date: 1988-03-01Comprises alphabetically arranged biographical articles, publications lists, and bibliographies for 176 women (and two men) who made significant contributions to the field of nursing during their lifetime (all are deceased). Indexed according to first nursing school attended, area of special interest, and place of birth.
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers by Call Number: R692 .B52 2002ISBN: 157356219XPublication Date: 2002This book summarizes the lives of 240 significant or representative women who have engaged in the "core" professions of mid-wifery, nursing, and medicine (exclusive of psychiatry), and whose careers were primarily spent in the United States and Canada, from colonial times to the present.
Pivotal Moments in Nursing: leaders who changed the path of a profession by Call Number: RT34 .H68 2007 InternetISBN: 1435658981Publication Date: 2007The book covers key events and biographies of key individuals in the nursing field.
A History of American Nursing by ISBN: 9780763759513Publication Date: 2009-03-19Basic understanding of nursing history is essential in the development of mature appreciation and understanding of the nursing profession associated with foundation level core content areas that include nursing theory, research, community health, policy a
The Medical Millennium by Call Number: R134 .L44 2000ISBN: 185070466XPublication Date: 2000This is an extensively illustrated review of 1000 notable men and women who have contributed most to our current knowledge of medicine and surgery over the past 1000 years.
Milestones in Health and Medicine by Call Number: R133 .H36 2000ISBN: 1573561401Publication Date: 2000More than 500 entries, written in an A-Z format, cover the amazing changes that have taken place in the world of health and medicine, including: discoveries, procedures, devices, research (including AIDS and cancer), current controversies, ancient medical practices, and breakthroughs in understanding disease and mental illness
Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine by Call Number: R133 .E5 1993 CARRIER REFERENCEISBN: 0415047714Publication Date: 1993Volume 2 contains a history of nursing chapter- Rockingham Memorial Hospital and the School of Nursing, yesterday and today, 1912-1973 by Call Number: RA982.H372 R62 1973Publication Date: 1973
