Search Tips
The column to the right lists some credible websites that document the history of nursing. To find additional websites, here are a few search tips:
- Remember that websites can contain a mix of primary and secondary resources, so pay close attention to the dates describing the specific item you are interested in using
- Evaluate the source of information, particularly the authority. Use the CRAAP test to make sure your website isn't, well, crap.
Websites
While Google and Google Scholar may offer you millions of possible websites, here are a few key resources that can help you find some History of Nursing information.
- Florence Nightingale Digitization ProjectA comprehensive digital collection of digitized correspondence written by Florence Nightingale
- Barbara Bates Center for the History of NursingArchive at the University of Pennsylvania with one of the largest collections of documents and photographs in the county. Check out their History of Nursing page. https://www.nursing.upenn.edu/nhhc/Pages/Welcome.aspx
- Margaret Sanger Papers ProjectThe site provides access to Margaret Sanger's papers and a listing of other resources related to her work. Margaret Sanger was a birth control activist during the early 20th century.
- Women's HistoryThis site is a subpage to the Library of Congress' American Memory project. The website will connect you to archival images and objects that may help reflect ideas or opinions of the nursing profession in history.
- Research Resources: American Association of the History of NursingThe site provides links to dozens of online resources addressing topics such as Black Nurses in History, Civil War Resources, and Frontier Nursing Services.
- Nursing History and Health CareThe site provides an overview of the history of nursing, including essays on specific time periods and archival images
- Eleanor Crowder Bjoring Center for Nursing Historical Inquiry (CNHI)Housed at University of Virginia, the CNHI provides access to photographic and manuscript (letters, diaries, etc.) materials.
- American Nurses Association (ANA) Hall of FameSince 1974, the ANA has been honoring leaders in the nursing field by inducting them into the ANA Hall of Fame. This site provides an alphabetical index of all inductees. Each inductee has a short biography documenting his/her achievements.
- Medical Heritage LibraryThis collaborative project includes items from some of the largest collections of medical history in the world. Gives access to digital copies of historical published material.
- Black Nurses in HistoryResearch Guide from the library at the Cooper Medical School of Rowan University.
- Nursing ClioPeer-reviewed blog about the history of nursing.
- RemediaCollaborative blog connecting history to the concerns of today.
