Have a Tech Issue?
Check our Notices & Alerts
Business Librarian
Music Librarian
What if I can't find financial data?
If you have struck out finding financial statements for a private company using PrivCo, here's what I suggested you do instead.
1. Identify your company's NAICS code. This is often listed in the Business Source Complete database record, if you find an article about your company.
-
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses.
2. Research news databases using your company name. Look for articles or press releases that talk about revenue, sales or valuation.
-
Factiva This link opens in a new windowBusiness resources including full text periodicals, news photographs, company reports, and financial data.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
3. Put this information together. Using the NAICS code, company location, and any financial information you find listed in the popular or trade press, search in BizMiner to find the "averages" for a company in your industry.
-
BizMiner This link opens in a new windowIndustry research and data reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets.
Tips for Getting the Best Info from Libraries Databases
JMU Libraries has created several tutorials in Google Slides to help students use our specialized business resources.
Click on the name of the database to open the tutorial that shows how to search for data and cite the information you find in APA style.
-
Doing Business Research: Using Business Source Complete
Tips for using the Business Source Complete database to find information about a company, industry or topic.
