Find Open and Affordable Course Content

OpenStax's high-quality educational tools give students access to the learning materials they need to succeed, at little to no cost. Because OpenStax doesn’t believe anything should come between students and their future.

The libraries are part of a huge network that provides not just single textbooks, but an infinitely large library through which new texts can be developed & shared.

Milne Open Textbooks (formerly Open SUNY Textbooks) offer services to support wide faculty adoption of OER that can be effectively sustained, improved and shared, as well as delivered to students to give them the day-one access to course materials they need for academic success.

OER and public domain resources created by authors at Toronto Metropolitan University

OpenTextBookStore was created by Math educators frustrated with the time involved in finding adoptable open textbooks, with the hope to make open textbook adoption easier for other faculty.

This is an updated, discipline specific OER textbook list for departments at Sacred Heart University, compiled by Zach Claybaugh and Chelsea Stone.

Noba is a free online platform that provides high-quality, flexibly structured Psychology textbooks and educational materials. These textbooks and materials are licensed under the Creative Commons CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 International License.

A list that groups open textbooks by course title. All the books have been judged to meet the evaluation criteria set by the AIM editorial board.

EdTech Books only includes content on this site that is gratis (free as in no cost), but not all content may provide freedoms to users for remixing, etc. (free as in freedom). Each book included in this site is released under its own license, and some include chapters or other content that may be released under yet another license.

The Engineering Library Division of the American Society for Engineering Education published a listing of open textbooks organized by engineering discipline.

This website is dedicated to providing free, open curriculum and resources to anybody who is interested in our geographic world.

Computer Science, Programming (Bayes, Python, MATLAB, Java, DSP)

OSWE serves as a publisher of open textbooks and as a clearinghouse for open textbooks in social work and related disciplines.

Smarthistory provides art history resources and supports AP art history and A-level curriculum.

Digital collections and digital humanities projects (open access)

COERLL's mission is to produce and disseminate Open Educational Resources (OER) for the Internet public (e.g., online language courses, reference grammars, assessment tools, corpora, etc.).

The listing of open textbooks is organized by engineering discipline.

A growing online collection of contemporary open access eBooks from the Library of Congress website

The ebooks, which reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content, are freely available for anyone in the world to use. Each ebook carries one of six Creative Commons licenses determined by the publisher.

The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences and in many different languages.

Our books are published in hardback, paperback and ebook editions, but we also publish free online editions of every title in PDF, HTML and XML formats that can be read via our website, downloaded, reused or embedded anywhere.

Michigan Publishing publishes scholarly and educational materials in a range of formats for wide dissemination and permanent preservation and advocates for the broadest possible access to scholarship everywhere.

OpenEdition Books is a French language platform for books in the humanities and social sciences. Most are Open Access and freely available, but check the licensing and permissions before using.

Free public domain audio books

A leading global independent publisher focusing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with several hundred open access titles.

Open access allows unrestricted online access to ebooks with no reading or subscription fees. Authors retain copyright and are able to comply with funders' open access mandates.

EdTech Books only includes content on this site that is gratis (free as in no cost), but not all content may provide freedoms to users for remixing, etc. (free as in freedom). Each book included in this site is released under its own license, and some include chapters or other content that may be released under yet another license.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records that represent open access resources. Look for the option to limit results to only open access.

Getty Publications produces award-winning titles that result from or complement the work of the J. Paul Getty Museum, the Getty Conservation Institute, and the Getty Research Institute. This wide variety of books covers the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both the general public and specialists. In 2014, Getty Publications launched its Virtual Library with more than 250 titles spanning its forty-year publishing history. Publications in the Virtual Library are available to individuals for private study, scholarship, and research purposes only.

IntechOpen is built by scientists, for scientists. Topics include the physical and life sciences, technology, health science, business, psychology, and social sciences.

Our mission is to advance educational opportunities for all students by providing textbooks and exams at the lowest possible price. Textbooks are open licensed and free for download.

Aggregating the world’s open access research papers. We offer seamless access to millions of open access research papers, enrich the collected data for text-mining and provide unique services to the research community.

The Open Library of Humanities (OLH) is a charitable organisation dedicated to publishing open access scholarship with no author-facing article processing charges (APCs). We are funded by an international consortium of libraries who have joined us in our mission to make scholarly publishing fairer, more accessible, and rigorously preserved for the digital future.

The Institution of Engineering and Technology has now completed the transition of its entire journals portfolio (back to 2013) to Open Access in partnership with Wiley.

Redalyc is an indexing system that contains open access journals of scientific and editorial quality. Founded in 2003, its goal was to give visibility, consolidate and enhance the editorial quality of Social Sciences and Humanities journals from Latin America. In 2006, Redalyc welcomed all fields of knowledge and integrated journals from the Iberian Peninsula.

AmeliCA is a communication infrastructure for scholarly publishing and open science. Sustained cooperatively, this initiative focuses on a non-profit publishing model to preserve the scholarly and open nature of scientific communication.

SciELO Network provides Open Access (OA) to journals’ contents and books through a decentralized network of national collections of peer reviewed journals from 15 countries in Latin America, Portugal, Spain and South Africa. Journals are organized in national and thematic collections, and each collection is managed by a nationally recognized research organization.

The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web. This is a new service. Metadata is being improved and features have not been finalized.

CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education.

H2O offers a platform for making and sharing open-licensed casebooks and other course materials online for law faculty and students.

This book is an introduction to intellectual property law, the set of private legal rights that allows individuals and corporations to control intangible creations and marks—from logos to novels to drug formulae—and the exceptions and limitations that define those rights.

Open Source Property: A Free Casebook is a free resource for instructors and students of the first-year Property Law course at American law schools, and anyone else with an interest in the subject.

This casebook includes not only cases, but also the text of the rules and restatements, as well as concise explanations of the relevant law.

Courses include:
- Copyright Law (any term / any semester)
- Trademark Law (any term / any semester)
- Foundations of Intellectual Property Law (any term / any semester)
- Contracts (any term / any semester)

This casebook explores tort law’s practice, structure, and theory by examining a range of torts. The cases range from mundane and amusing disputes to serious and shocking situations.

Candela courses provide an extremely low cost e-book alternative to expensive commercial textbooks in high enrollment college courses. More than just an open textbook, Candela offers “value-added” OER.

MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity. While the course structure is openly- licensed, some course content may not be openly-licensed.

The Open Learning Initiative (OLI) is a grant-funded group at Carnegie Mellon University, offering innovative online courses to anyone who wants to learn or teach. Our aim is to create high-quality courses and contribute original research to improve learning and transform higher education.

A small number of university-level online courses.

The Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts and managed by the Washington State Board for Community and Technical Colleges

The goal of this course is to help students make effective communication decisions because when we teach the WHY, we enable our students to understand the HOW, giving them the ability to know how to be effective communicators where they can lead in our ever-changing world. This course is designed for instructors who have the option of delivering the content either synchronously or asynchronously, depending on the needs of their classes and students.

This American Sign Language 101 OER is a Google Doc containing instructional videos of original design. The document also offers media content from ASL instructors and creators across the Web. All materials are meant as a supplement to ASL instruction.

This American Sign Language 102 OER is a Google Doc containing instructional videos of original design. The document also offers media content from ASL instructors and creators across the Web. All materials are meant as a supplement to ASL instruction. These resources are in no way intended to replace the breadth of knowledge acquired from taking an ASL course.

University of Pittsburgh

OER Commons is a dynamic digital library and network. Explore open education resources and join our network of educators dedicated to curriculum improvement.

Librarians develop our curated collections to bring you the best of our digital library offerings. Efforts were made to identify educational resources in subject areas offered at Virginia’s institutions of higher education.

Offer a comprehensive infrastructure that provides high-quality OER content and the opportunity for collaboration around the adaptation, evaluation, and instructional needs of faculty and learners.

OER Commons Green is dedicated to sustainability and resource conservation teaching and learning materials for K-12 and higher ed.

Welcome to Humanities Commons, the network for people working in the humanities. Discover the latest open-access scholarship and teaching materials, make interdisciplinary connections, and increase the impact of your work by sharing it in the repository.

A web-accessible and mobile-friendly digital anthology of curated, contextualized, machine-readable literature in English designed for use by students, teachers, and the general public. Because we anticipate these pieces being used in the classroom, it is essential that the material be authoritative, citable, and printable--therefore, users can create custom coursepacks that live both online and in print.

OAI is a SEARCH AND VISUALIZATION ENGINE FOR HIGH-RESOLUTION IMAGES OF ARTWORKS - from all around the world and from every period in history - that belong to the public domain or to a type of Creative Commons license which allows their reuse.

The MERLOT collection consists of tens of thousands of discipline-specific learning materials, learning exercises, and Content Builder webpages, and many undergo the more extensive "peer review" for which MERLOT is famous.

An open-source online homework system for math and sciences courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems.

Open and free online interactive platform for math homework.

The Center for Open Educational Resources & Language Learning (COERLL) is one of 16 National Foreign Language Resource Centers (LRC's) funded by the U.S. Department of Education. The overall mission of these federally-funded centers is to improve the teaching and learning of foreign languages by producing resources (materials and best practices) that can be profitably employed in a variety of settings.

An open platform for sharing lessons and learning languages.

The project offers links to existing materials found on the ‘net, including teaching resources, scholarly lectures, and research materials. At the centre is an ethos of sharing, of professionalism and collegiality, of working through these challenging times together in the spirit of community.

An international collaboration committed to creating an open educational resource featuring a corpus of digital texts, deep-reading tools, and open-source software.

The Open Case Studies project at UBC brings together faculty and students from different disciplines to write, edit, and learn with case studies that are free and open--they are publicly available free of cost, and they are licensed to allow others to revise and reuse them.

The MIT Sloan School of Management has provided case studies and management simulations carrying a creative commons license allowing them to be downloaded, copied, and distributed/used free of charge by anyone worldwide, no permission required. While this collection covers a wide array of industries, companies, and organizations, it focuses mainly on areas in which MIT Sloan’s innovative research and teaching are world renowned.

The Ted Rogers Leadership Centre’s Case Collection provides instructors with real-life decision-making scenarios to help hone students’ critical-thinking skills and their understanding of what good leaders do. They will be able to leverage the theories, models, and processes being advanced. These case studies are offered free of charge to all instructors.

CALI is a 501(c)(3) non-profit consortium of mostly US law schools that conducts applied research and development in the area of computer-mediated legal education.

This online journal and not-for-profit project explores curious and compelling works from the history of art, literature, and ideas.

Free public domain audio books

Originally created as a wiki for virtual library for public domain music scores, the site now also includes works of various copyright designations, yet it is still a fantastic source for public domain scores.

A collaborative initiative that enables educational entities throughout Virginia to create, share, and access openly-licensed educational resources (PK-12).

A guide for getting started with OER in PreK-12 districts and systems.

Open Modernisms is a Creative-Commons-licensed (CC-BY), social-knowledge resource that allows scholars of modernism to build custom anthologies or coursepacks of out-of-copyright primary materials. Support for this site will cease November 1, 2019, but coursepacks will remain accessible as long as this version of Islandora is supported.

An Open Educational Resource website with the complete curriculum and all prep, assessment, and discussion materials for 4 separate Women's and Gender Studies Courses.

Download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come.

Smarthistory is the most visited art history resource in the world. We are the official provider of art history for khanacademy.org, and we support AP art history and A-level curriculum. Smarthistory supports students, instructors, and lifelong learners everywhere.

Voices of Virginia pulls together stories from oral history collections from across decades and archives to create an all-audio source companion for Virginia’s high school and college students. You’ll also find a brief introduction to each narrator, historical context adapted from experts at Encyclopedia Virginia, American Yawp, and Public Domain sources, and helpful classroom tools like discussion questions, activities, and lesson plans that fit into both the Virginia high school and college U.S. History curriculum.

From the Department of History at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, this collaborative, team-oriented, student-centered and community-based project seeks to create a popular movement to democratize and open American history by utilizing digital technologies to share the experiences and artifacts of everyday people and local historical institutions.

The Department of History at the University of Illinois created this series of publications, a set of online editions of historical materials, in response to the needs of teachers and researchers.

A free and open online library containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development created for the US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program.

The Cineteca (University of Chile), the oldest film archive in the country, has made over 150 films spanning the entire history of national cinema freely available to download or stream online.

EUscreen offers free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. We publish selected EUscreen content under a Creative Commons license on the Open Images portal.

Rick Prelinger and The Internet Archive hereby offer public domain films from Prelinger Archives to all for free downloading and reuse. You are warmly encouraged to download, use and reproduce these
films in whole or in part, in any medium or market throughout the world. You are also warmly encouraged to share, exchange, redistribute, transfer and copy these films, and especially encouraged to do so for free.

Guided Inquiry Activities for Programming Language Concepts is a collection of activities intended to support the use of POGIL in intermediate-level undergraduate computer science courses on functional programming and the implementation of programming languages.

The Affordable Learning LOUISiana OER repository is a digital library of open educational resources.

The aim is to share current literature, articles, or topics related to intensive/ critical care.

We aim to disrupt how medical providers and trainees can gain public access to high-quality, educational content while also engaging in a dialogue about best-practices in EM and medical education.

OpenLearn Create is an innovative leading open educational platform where individuals and organisations can publish their open content, open courses and resources. It is a Moodle platform and has tools for collaboration, reuse and remixing.

Students explore concepts and content in the field of psychology through video storytelling, programming, data visualization, web development, design and more. This novel curriculum solidifies new content knowledge, exposes students to modern digital tools and provides the opportunity to create tangible learning artifacts. See the content they've developed here.

These anatomical illustrations were created by Biological and Pre-Medical Illustration (BPMI) students that had previously attended the course, BIOL351: Comparative Chordate Anatomy. The students worked closely with the lab instructor to develop detailed anatomical illustrations of the specimens studied in the lab.

The Indigo Book is a free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of The Bluebook’s Uniform System of Citation.

This website has been offering a wide selection of psychological assessments, mostly personality tests, since late 2011. It exists to educate the public about various personality tests, their uses and meaning, the various theories of personality and also to collect data for research and develop new measures.

Dr. Bronson is currently the Iowa Music Teachers Association (IMTA) State President.

This website consists of a series of 3D simulations on engineering technology topics covered in EICC’s program. These simulations, developed by a local Quad City e-Learning Company Lucid Way (which are approximately from 2-9 minutes long) are used as part of their curriculum to help students quickly and thoroughly grasp the concepts being presented in a visual format.