Hospitality Management

Comprehensive coverage of the tourism management and marketing at a global scale covering the interdisciplinary nature of the field.

An ontology of the study of planned events and the professional practice of event management and event tourism.

Over 728 entries covers everything from a concise definition of back office systems, to management accounting and yield management. Covers all of the relevant issues in the field of hospitality management from both a sectoral level: * Lodging * Restaurants and Food service * Time-share * Clubs * Events As well as a functional one: * Accounting and Finance * Marketing * Strategic Management * Human Resources * Information Technology * Facilities Management .

This book specifically focuses on the demand for food and wine tourism experiences by Chinese tourists, which in recent years has become an important constituent of destination competitiveness.

Explores and critically evaluates current debates, issues and controversies to enable the reader to learn from the industry's past mistakes as well as future opportunities.

Hospitality managers now need to be familiar with rising labor costs, increasing competition for quality staff, changing employees' attitudes, evolving guest expectations and a proliferation of new laws that impact human resources policies and activities.

Contains chapters on data analytics, e-commerce and technology, trends analysis and detection, performance measures, and more.

Covers the essential concepts, ideas and formulas to be mastered within the hospitality industry including income statements, balance sheets, pricing and budgeting. Each chapter is split into two sections: theory and practice, giving students practical insight into the everyday realities of the hospitality industry through case studies.

Analyzes the main issues in the field of hospitality marketing by focusing on past, present and future challenges and trends from a multidisciplinary global perspective.

Focuses on designing, staging and managing experiences within the context of the events, tourism and hospitality industries that is based on combining insights and methods from the world of design and the social sciences.

Examines, contextualizes and applies leadership theory and practice at using a wide range of contemporary research.

Uses a range of international case studies to show the theory in practice. Explains and discusses the theory in an applied context, linking to sustainable project management and technology.

Explains knowledge management frameworks and their application and relevance to planned events and event tourism with international case studies contributed by practitioners and other experts in the field to illustrate methods and applications.

Provides a concise introduction to portfolio theory and methods for use in event management and event tourism.

Applies stakeholder theory to event management, treating event management as an applied field, using examples and case studies relatable to the real world.

An international range of contributors present key research findings, in-depth case studies and discussion of the future implications stemming from technologies changes and developments across a number of core themes effecting these industries, including destination promotion, marketing contexts, service promotion and smart city involvement.

Hospitality Business Development analyses and evaluates the different aspects of business growth routes and development processes in the international hospitality industry.

This is a book about being a successful manager in the complex hospitality industry. Approaching the subject in the context of personal development, it offers future managers essential knowledge and insight into the opportunities, the constraints, the problems and the solutions that face management at any level in the industry.

Hospitality Finance and Accounting provides a uniquely concise, accessible and comprehensive introduction to hospitality, finance and accounting from a managerial perspective.

Using recreated itineraries, travel along with Edward Hopper on his various road trips and encounter hotels, staff, and guests as seen through the artist's eyes.

Travel Journalism closely examines the impact of digital media and technology on this specialist area of journalism and how professionals working in travel media today are adapting to it.

Emotional intelligence (EI) is the capability to recognize one's own emotions and those of others. This book has a skills-based approach and explains how emotional intelligence can be developed in tourism and hospitality students and employees.

By identifying major emergencies that have occurred in the hotel industry; investigating hotels' preparation for emergencies in the past; and exploring how hotels manage and overcome such emergencies; this book will increase the awareness of emergency managers and scholars on how to read, manage, and overcome the impact of emergencies in the hospitality industry.

Employer Branding (EB) aims to assist businesses in becoming the employer of choice for potential employees, and provides hands-on tools in attracting, developing and retaining people. Employer Branding for the Hospitality and Tourism Industry explores the potential of EB in changing approaches to managing people and improving opinions on careers in the hospitality sector.

This book provides a much-needed introduction to the potential applications of theories of practice in tourism studies. It brings together a variety of approaches exploring how theories of practice bridge themes and fields.

Dining Out presents restaurants both as businesses and as venues for a range of human experiences.

Using a combination of theoretical discussion and real-world case studies, this book analyses the use of robotics, artificial intelligence and services automation (RAISA) within the travel, tourism and hospitality industries.

In The Battle to Do Good, former McDonald's executive Bob Langert takes readers on a behind-the-scenes eye witness account of the mega brand's battle to address numerous societal hot-button issues, such as packaging, waste, recycling, obesity, deforestation, and animal welfare.

Delivering Tourism Intelligence demonstrates that good academic analysis can deliver quality implications for a range of stakeholders.

In Selling the Sights, Will B. Mackintosh describes the origins and cultural significance of this new type of traveler and the moment in time when the emerging American market economy began to reshape the availability of geographical knowledge, the material conditions of travel, and the variety of destinations that sought to profit from visitors with money to spend.

In Food Fight! author Paloma Martinez-Cruz takes us on a journey that is powerful and humorous. Martinez-Cruz tackles head on the real-world politics of food production from the exploitation of farmworkers to the appropriation of Latina bodies and culture.

Topics covered include developing the client relationship, marketing, financial accountability, risk, interdepartmental communication, onsite procedures and post-event evaluation. This is a fundamental resource for all event management and hospitality students.

Covers various aspects of human resource management in the hospitality industry in a global context in such areas as: selection, recruitment, training and development, performance management, compensation and benefits, and employee retention.