Related Research Guides
Have a Question? Ask Me
Company, Industry, & Market Research
Research your company
Find company reports, news, financial statements and SWOTs
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts journals covering scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full text for periodicals and news sources covering all aspects of business, including business, country economic reports, company profiles, market research reports, industry reports, and SWOT analyses. - Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. & international publicly-held company data & reports. Datasets can be downloaded as Excel files. - Uniworld Online This link opens in a new windowInformation for headquarters, subsidiaries, and branches of multinational companies in more than 200 countries.
International Directory of Company HistoriesProvides histories of companies that are a leading influence in a particular industry or geographic location.
Encyclopedia of Global BrandsPublication Date: 2013E-book contains 270 case studies that highlight how a product originated and was first marketed. Also covers private companies.
Research your industry
These cover topics such as growth outlook, key success factors, and margins.
- IBISWorld This link opens in a new windowIndustry market research reports of more than 700 United States industries; includes US Specialized Industry Reports, East Coast State Reports, and iExpert Summaries.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowA data aggregation and research platform covering worldwide markets, industries, and societal topics. Data is compiled from private and public sources aggregated from North American, Europe, and Asia.
- BizMiner This link opens in a new windowIndustry research and data reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets.
Research market share & consumer behavior
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive resource full of reports on current issues in a wide array of domestic and international markets.
- Claritas 360 This link opens in a new windowApplication for measuring consumer demand and evaluating locations and markets in order to develop effective marketing strategies and messages.
Restaurant, food & beverage market research (RKMA handbook)
This link opens in a new window
Provides consumer research on restaurant and foodservice markets. Requires Pulse Secure for off-campus access. Click the Pulse icon to the right to learn more.
Travel & Tourism Market Research (RKMA handbook)- This link opens in a new window
In-depth data on a wide variety of travel market trends, including hotels, nightlife, spas, amusement parks, business travel and more. Requires Pulse Secure for off-campus access. Click the "S" icon to the right of the title link to learn more.
News Sources
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowAn online version of the Wall Street Journal
Note: First time users will need to create a personal account using these instructions. - Financial Times This link opens in a new windowDigital content from the Financial Times provides FT articles published in the daily paper, in-depth 'Special Reports', and company and financial information.
Note: First time users will need to create an account using these instructions. - The Economist This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Economist. Note: First-time users must create an individual account using these instructions.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull access to The Washington Post online coverage, including unlimited access to interactives and videos. Sign up for an individual account for more streamlined and personalized access. Note: To create an individual account use these instructions.
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowFull access to The New York Times and International New York Times content. Access also includes unlimited access to the Archives and learning tools such as the Learning Network and the New York Times inEducation website.
Note: First time users will need to create a one year renewable account using these instructions
Key business magazines
- Harvard Business Review (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Articles and case studies
Dates covered:1922 to present - Bloomberg businessweek (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Business news and analysis
Dates covered: 1997- present - MIT Sloan Management Review (JMU subscription)Content type(s): Articles and analysis
Dates covered: 1980-present
Search across many news sites
Search these databases for recent news articles from a variety of news sources to use in class or for online discussion boards.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowContent types: News articles from U.S. and international sources, including Virginia newspapers like the Daily News Record.
Dates covered: 1950-present (varies by publication) - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContent type(s): Current news, company information, foreign language news, broadcast transcripts
Dates covered: Current - Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Full text for more than 50 regional business journals, newspapers, and newswires
Dates covered: Current
What's your NAICS code?
Identify your industry (NAICS)
An industry is a group of businesses that produce and/or sell the same, or similar, goods or services (Ruediger & Olsen, 2013).
To streamline collection of data about industries, the U.S. Federal Government developed the North American Industry Classification System or NAICS.
You can use NAICS codes to search for information about your industry, including typical the number of establishments, types of expenses, financial benchmarks, etc.
Help
Recommended resources
Remember that an emerging product might not fit perfectly into a single NAICS code. You might need to strategically weigh and average two or more industries to produce the best presentation.
Stuck? Consider which industry might lose customers to your product. For example, dessert hummus likely would appeal to consumers who purchase ice cream and/or frozen yogurt (311520).
Understanding scholarly and peer-reviewed sources
These tutorials, handouts and videos explain help you understand the articles you are reading.
Scholarly articles in everyday life
- The ConversationAn independent, nonprofit publisher of commentary and analysis, authored by academics and edited by journalists for the general public.