Linguistic Anthropology

Digital image library offering searchable collections of images and descriptive information including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, and more, encompassing many time periods and world cultures.
Note: First time, off-campus users accessing via OpenAthens will be required to create a personal account

Search for images, maps, cartoons, paintings; browse magazines from 1888-1994.

The archives of noted musicologist, folklorist and sound recordist Alan Lomax, contains teaching resources, sound recordings, photograph collections, video collections, discussions, interviews, lectures, radio shows.

Music collection covering the genres of reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, Bollywood, and other traditional music, such as Indian classical, flamenco, zydeco, gospel, and more.

Streaming classical music, World, Folk and Chinese music, and includes notes on musical works and biographical information on composers or artists.
NOTE: To use the Naxos mobile app, you'll need to create a personal account following the directions found here, under the student/faculty of subscribing university or an educational institution.

An encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions, in streaming audio.

Collection of tens of thousands of streaming videos, from classic movies, to documentaries and education films.

Documentary films in a variety of subjects, including education, healthcare, science and technology, and critical thinking.

Streaming video resource containing thousands of educational videos in all major subject areas; includes access to archival films and newsreels.

Contains over 25,000 videos, documentaries, training films, theatrical releases, and more.
Note: the login/sign up buttons at the top right of the Kanopy interface are for creating and logging in to personal accounts. It is not necessary to log in to view films if you're on campus. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to log in as a JMU user when you select a film.