Hours
Special Collections is open by appointment, Tuesdays and Thursdays, from 9:00 am to 4:00 pm. See Plan a Visit to learn more and schedule an appointment.
Social Media
Special Collection Materials
James Madison University Libraries Special Collections holdings include both primary and secondary source materials available to researchers for on site use. Materials found in our collections represent the Central Shenandoah Valley, and JMU history. Rare books include 16th century religious texts, pulp fiction magazines, early American almanacs, artists' books, and moveable books.
Many of the reference works in Special Collections are books on local history from small presses as well as publications about JMU and the history of the institution.
Using Special Collections
The various tabs in this LibGuide will show you how to complete specialized searches for different types of materials in Special Collections. Additional information is available at the Special Collections website. Anyone, including students and visitors to the university, is welcome at JMU Special Collections.
When visiting Special Collections for the first time, patrons must first register as a user with the Special Collections Request System.
Researchers must make all requests for materials through the Special Collections Request System, and may only use materials on-site in the Special Collections reading room.
Contact library-special@jmu.edu with questions. Useful information is also available on the visitor information page.
Contact
Email: library-special@jmu.edu
Telephone: (540) 568-3612
Website: www.lib.jmu.edu/special
Location: Burruss Hall, room 256