Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Streaming Videos

This Guide contains information about accessing JMU's Streaming Video Collection

Find Streaming Titles from JMU Libraries via Library Search

Here is how you can use Library Search to look for streaming media across many platforms.


1. Type your title or keywords into Library Search.

JMU Libraries homepage with example terms in Library Search bar

2. Use Modify Results in the left-hand column to adjust your search results. For finding streaming media, you can adjust by Availability to only see items Available Online.

Library Search Modify Results screenshot

You can also adjust results by Material Type to select only Video results.

Screenshot of Library Search filter Material Type with star next to Video option

3. When you find a video, click on the title of the video to see more access options. The below screenshot demonstrates the different ways the information may appear. Physical items, like DVDs, will have a Library Location and call number. Streaming titles say Available Online.

Click on the video title or Available Online link to see where to access the full video.

Screenshot of Library Search search results

4. In the individual item record, go to Get JMU Access section to find the database link.

Screenshot of item record indicating where to Get JMU Access

5. If you are off-campus, you may need to login with your eID, password, and Duo before accessing the full video.

6. If you want to use the video for a class, check the Local Note to see if we have temporary leased access or longer-term purchased access.

Screenshot of local note on a film record


Much, but not all, of our streaming media can be found through Library Search. If you aren't finding what you are looking for:

Find Streaming Titles from JMU Libraries via Individual Databases

Some databases require you to search within their platform to find content. Here are instructions on how to find individual platforms for searching.


1. From the Libraries' homepage, click the Databases link.

Screenshot of JMU Library page highlighting databases

2. On the Databases page, click on the "All Databases Types" dropdown menu to filter the list of databases.

3. In the dropdown menu, scroll down to "Videos" to select this option.

Databases page screenshot showing All Databases Types dropdown menu and Videos option in menu

4. You can then select an individual streaming media database and search for content.