Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
View Emergency News feed
Encyclopedias and Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable online reference book collection covering all subjects from the arts to zoology.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Database of full-text scholarly reference books on all subjects.
SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Full-text encyclopedias back to 2002 on subjects ranging from African American Studies to Sociology.
Current Events & Controversies
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Contains various resources about current social issues, such as gun control, censorship, and genetic engineering
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Full text reports on current and controversial issues in U.S. politics, health care, education, economics.
A crowd-sourced encyclopedia of opinions on topics
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full text collection of international and local news sources.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Contains several full-text databases: current news, laws and legislation, business and company information, country and state profiles, tax information, biographies, and more.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Click on "News Pages" at the top of the screen to browse the full text of major newspapers
List of JMU Newspaper Resources
The A-Z List of resources, filtered by the type "News." These resources give you access to articles from a wide variety of magazines and newspapers.