Have a Question? Ask Me!
Library Quick Links
- Connect From Off Campus
How to connect to library resources from off-campus.
- JMU Library Hours
Find out when we are open.
- JMU Library Catalog
Find books and other media in the library collection.
- Schedule to Meet your Librarian!
Need help navigating databases and other resources? Schedule an appointment with the Science & Math Librarian, to help!
- Interlibrary Loan
Request books, journal articles, and other materials NOT available in the JMU Libraries.
Frequently Used Resources
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts periodical articles in chemistry.
Note: First-time users will need to create an account using their JMU email address - PubMed This link opens in a new windowFreely accessible online database including scholarly biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Material Safety Data Sheets This link opens in a new windowData sheets with proper procedures for handling or working with substances, including information such as physical data, toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and more.
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)Part of the US Department of Commerce. One of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories.
- SDBS (Spectral Database for Organic Compounds)Spectral Database for Organic Compounds. It contains all kinds of spectra for organic compounds including electron impact MS, FT-IR, NMR (both 1H and 13C), ESR, and Raman. See Help and Introduction for more information.
- Merck Index OnlineThe Merck Index contains 10,955 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances.