Government Websites
- National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)Part of the US Department of Commerce. One of the nation's oldest physical science laboratories.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new windowDatasets on nearly every aspect of society, from climate to finance to agriculture.
- Clinical Trials This link opens in a new windowRegistry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and UncertaintiesFundamental Physical Constraints, International System of Units (SI), and Uncertainty of Measurement Results.
- U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI)Includes technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data funded in whole or in part by the DOE the 1940s to today.
- Toxicity ForeCaster (ToxCast™) DataFrequently updated, publicly available, toxicity data on thousands of chemicals
- US Patent and Trademark Office Patent Database This link opens in a new windowFull text of all patents granted since 1976, and the patent number, issue date, and current US classification for all patents granted from 1790 through 1975.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
Useful Websites
- Drugs.comProvides accurate and independent information on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products.
- IUPAC (International Union of Pure & Applied Chemistry) Database"Recommendations on Organic & Biochemical Nomenclature, Symbols & Terminology etc."
- BRENDA (Braunschweig Enzyme Database)Collection of enzyme functional data searchable by EC Number, Enzyme Name or Organism. Contains a wide variety of property information, including bibliographic references.
- RCSB Protein Data Bank"The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. These are the molecules of life that are found in all organisms including bacteria, yeast, plants, flies, other animals, and humans."
- Solid State and Solution NMR LinksA large collection of resources on the Web related to NMR, including links to software.
Chemical Structure Editors
If you do hot have access to ChemDraw, there are a few free or low-cost options for drawing chemical structures.
MarvinSketch & MarvinView (free)
- Free structure/reaction drawing editor from ChemAxon. Structure editor supporting multiple file formats, for Windows, Mac and Linux. Free access is for personal, non-commercial use only. Prompted to renew every 2 months. Registration required. Under your account info, you'll find a alphanumeric license key and an offline license for downloading. You can use either option to activate your Marvin license once installed.
BIOVIA Draw (no free version)
- Chemical structure drawing tool. No-fee option for academic and non-commercial use, but registration required to download. Formerly Accelrys (ISIS/Draw).
Chem Doodle (limited time free trial)
- Structure/reaction editor for Windows, Mac and Linux. Includes ChemDoodle 2D, 3D, and Mobile. There are several pricing options, with a free trial available.
*JMU Libraries does not provide access to these resources. Rather, this list is given to help you find relevant study materials.