Research Guides: Chemistry: Databases

Top Chemistry & Biochemistry Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts periodical articles in chemistry.
Note: First-time users will need to create an account using their JMU email address
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.

ChemRxiv
Open preprint server for the global chemistry community. You can put your research immediately out on the web and share it with other scientists and colleagues, prior to formal peer review.
BRENDA (Braunschweig Enzyme Database)
Collection of enzyme functional data searchable by EC Number, Enzyme Name or Organism. Contains a wide variety of property information, including bibliographic references.

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Index with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
ProQuest Materials Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles related to materials science and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts with some full text journals from the publisher Elsevier, the majority of which are in science, technology and medicine.

Before you start

Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!

While searching for an article

Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.

If we don't have access to an article

You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.