Chemistry

This site searches over 70,000 chemicals from over 20 supplier catalogs. This directory can be searched by molecular formula, registry number, physical and chemical characteristics, chemical names, and substructure.

"A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources." There is an introduction video on the home page.

"Open-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers."

Cambridge Structural Database (aka CSD) contains bibliographic, chemical and crystallographic information for organic molecules and metal-organic molecules. JMU has access to the CSD database in Phys/Chem Room 3M04.

eMolecules is the world’s most comprehensive openly accessible search engine for chemical structures.

Lipid chemistry, biology, technology, and analysis. Includes structure information, as well as NMR and Mass Spec information.

A database of powder diffraction data for organic and inorganic crystalline materials. JMU has access to the PDF-2 database on the X-ray computer located in Phys/Chem Room 3M04. See Tutorials.

PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds. It contains all kinds of spectra for organic compounds including electron impact MS, FT-IR, NMR (both 1H and 13C), ESR, and Raman. See Help and Introduction for more information.

"The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. These are the molecules of life that are found in all organisms including bacteria, yeast, plants, flies, other animals, and humans."