It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African, African American, & Diaspora Studies
Resources for African, African American, and Diaspora Studies.
Ebook and print. "Ninety years after W.E.B. Du Bois first articulated the need for "the equivalent of a black Encyclopedia Britannica," Kwame Anthony Appiah and Henry Louis Gates Jr., realized his vision by publishing Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience in 1999.This new, greatly expanded edition of the original work broadens the foundation provided by Africana."
A large-scale collective reference work compiled by the most prominent scholars in the field, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day. Includes the Encyclopaedia of Islam Second Edition and the Encyclopaedia of Islam THREE
Print. "Documents the full range of the African American experience during that period-from the arrival of the first slave ship to the death of Frederick Douglass-and shows how all aspects of American culture, history, and national identity have been profoundly influenced by the experience of African Americans"
Ebook. "Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopediacontains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts."
Ebook and print. "Covers African and African-American religion in sub-Saharan Africa, North America, South America, and the Caribbean, and provides vital insights into its growing worldwide influence in Europe, Asia and the South Pacific."
Ebook and print. "The second edition of this encyclopedia (four-volume set, 2004) covers the modern history of the Middle East and North Africa, with major sections on Colonialism and Imperialism, the World Wars, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and the United Nations involvement in the region."
Print. "From St. Augustine and early Ethiopian philosophers to the anti-colonialist movements of Pan-Africanism and Negritude, this encyclopedia offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition both on the continent in its entirety and throughout the African Diasporain the Americas and in Europe."
Ebook. "With more than 75 full-color maps, charts, and illustrations, this volume illuminates the myriad of contributions from Black Americans to the nations political, economic, cultural, and social history."
Reference resource covering fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.
Print. "A wealth of cumulative biographical sources, often rare or inaccessible, unknown and unused by researchers, exists in scattered libraries and private collections. This book is a master index to nearly 300 such titles, citing over 30,000 names and the works in which information concerning them can be found. Entries include personal name, gender, birth date, place of birth, death date, occupation, religion, biographical source, and illustrations, if any."