African, African American, & Diaspora Studies

"The oral histories comprising this collection were compiled as part of James Madison University’s 1978 summer workshop, "Oral Tradition and Storytelling in the Black Community of Harrisonburg.'" From the Special Collections at JMU Libraries.

A guide to Black comic book collections and resources in Special Collections at JMU Libraries.

"This living digital archive originated in the course “Black Studies and Black Spaces: Black Critical Frameworks and Communities at JMU and Beyond, 1968 to the Present” and continues to grow, with research and support from AAAD minors, graduate students, JMU faculty, and alumni."

"The online companion to the permanent exhibition that celebrates the life of pioneering African-American educator, Lucy F. Simms, and the school named in her honor."

"Now in its third decade, the Furious Flower Poetry Center (FFPC) has been a driving force in showcasing, promoting, and analyzing African American poetry nationally and internationally."

"In the mid-1870s, a young African American educator arrived in Harrisonburg, Virginia, where he wrote a novel about antebellum life in the Shenandoah Valley. George A. Newman’s A Miserable Revenge: A Story of Life in Virginia appears here in print for the first time, nearly 150 years after its composition...This digital critical companion provides access to Newman’s novel in several formats, and provides a range of student-created resources intended to contextualize and enrich our understanding of this fascinating novel."

"This collection contains all of the digitized Augusta County Circuit Court records pertaining to African American history. This collection is an important first step in documenting the black experience in Augusta County, VA during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Physical copies of most of these documents are on view in the deed room of Augusta County Circuit Court in Staunton, VA."

"Prior to its closure due to integration in 1965, the Lucy F. Simms School played a vital role in the Black community in Harrisonburg and beyond. In the summer of 2022, Celebrating Simms embarked on a year-long oral history project to celebrate and preserve the memories of students who attended Simms before it closed its doors... Access the full, unedited audio recordings and transcripts of the complete set of oral histories."

"An interactive and searchable map of digital and public humanities projects related to Black history & culture."

"A digital project that aims to catalog and map all the historical markers commemorating victims of lynching in the United States."

"This website focuses on telling the stories of all the known lynching victims who were killed in Virginia between 1866 and 1932, most of them African American men."