Physics & Astronomy

The U.S. government's information portal. Start at science.gov for a broad search of agency holdings.

U.S. Department of Commerce - NIST 

• NIST Physics Topic Page 
• Physical Reference Data
• Materials Data Repository-
• Atomic Transition Probability Database
• Basic Reference Data for Electronic Structure Calculations
• Ceramics WebBook
• Chemistry WebBook
• Digital Library of Mathematical Functions

U.S. Department of Defense

• Defense Technical Information Center 
• PubDefense (peer-reviewed scholarly publications); technical reports; grant awards; budget data; innovation marketplace; corporate source authority system search; thesaurus; conference proceedings 

U.S. Department of Energy

• OSTI - OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results.
• Other OSTI tools:
  • DOE Public Access Gateway for Science and Energy (PAGES) (contains journal articles and accepted manuscripts)
  • DOE Data Explorer (research data)
  • DOE Patents (patent information)  
• DOE National Laboratories (e.g., Argonne National Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory)

NASA

• NTRS - NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) provides access to aerospace-related citations, full-text online documents, images, and videos.
• DATA.NASA.GOV- NASA's clearinghouse site for open data provided to the public. 
• NAVO- NASA National Astronomical Virtual Observatories (NAVO) may be used to access NASA's astronomy data.
• NASA Science Data Archives
• NASA Astro Data
  • HEASARC (High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center) 
  • NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database
  • Smithsonian/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) 
  • Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes 
  • NASA/IPAC Infrared Science Archive (IRSA)
  • NASA Exoplanet Science Institute (NExSCl)
  • SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data)
• NASA Center and Facilities (e.g., Goddard, JPL)

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

• PubMed- PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
• PubSpace - PubSpace is an archive of full-text journal articles produced by NASA-funded research and available online without a fee. Pub-Space is available from a collaboration between the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and NASA to allow wider access to the results of federally-funded research. Articles collected under the Public Access Policy are archived on PubSpace, which is hosted by NIH on their PubMed Central (PMC) repository.

• CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
• Smithsonian Physical Tables- This classic reference includes 901 tables of common physical and chemical data.
• Particle Data Group Review of Particle Physics- This resource provides a compilation and evaluation of measurements of the properties of known elementary particles and summarizes searches for hypothetical new particles.
• International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology