Science & Math Librarian
Accessing Articles
Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Databases
Use databases to find journals, preprint articles, published articles, conference proceedings, patents, technical reports, and other e-publications.
If you are unsure of where to start, contact your librarian.
- ArXiv This link opens in a new windowOpen access research articles in the areas of Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowCore scientific database encompassing the literature, substances and reactions of chemistry, biochemistry, chemical engineering and related fields. Note: First-time users will need to create an account using their JMU email address
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts with some full text journals from the publisher Elsevier, the majority of which are in science, technology and medicine.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowBibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
Additional Resources
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearch across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index and full text source for scholarly journals and magazines.
Publications from Professional Organizations
- ScitationFrom the American Institute of Physics (AIP), discover more than one million documents from scholarly journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and other special publications from prestigious scientific societies and technical publishers.
- IOP ScienceInstitute of Physics publications
- AMS JournalsJournals published by the American Mathematical Society
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of society magazines, journals, and other periodicals on artificial intelligence, e-Commerce, intelligent Systems, the semantic Web, biometrics, and more.