Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
Request an electronic copy from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Helpful Databases
- UniProtThe Universal Protein Resource (UniProt) is a comprehensive resource for protein sequence and annotation data.
- BRENDA (Braunschweig Enzyme Database)Collection of enzyme functional data searchable by EC Number, Enzyme Name or Organism. Contains a wide variety of property information, including bibliographic references.
- RCSB Protein Data Bank"The Protein Data Bank (PDB) archive is the single worldwide repository of information about the 3D structures of large biological molecules, including proteins and nucleic acids. These are the molecules of life that are found in all organisms including bacteria, yeast, plants, flies, other animals, and humans."
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts periodical articles in chemistry.
Note: First-time users will need to create an account using their JMU email address - Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
PubMed Tutorials
- I retrieved too many citations. How can I focus my search?
- I retrieved too few citations. How can I expand my search?
- Combining search terms with Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)
- Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) in MEDLINE®/PubMed®: A Tutorial