What is Background Information?
Why should I start with background information when starting a research project?
Once you choose a topic, finding resources that provide general information can help you understand that topic if it is unfamiliar to you or help you decide what your research might focus on within the topic.
Online Reference Sources
- Merck Index Online This link opens in a new windowMonographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances, as well as chemical structure searching and drawing tools.
- AccessScience: McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online This link opens in a new windowReference resource containing encyclopedia articles, illustrations, definitions, biographies, bibliographies, and learning resources covering all major science disciplines.
- ASBC Methods of Analysis This link opens in a new windowScientific methods for brewing malt beverages, including built-in calculators, videos, spreadsheets, audio PowerPoints, and color images.
- ChemSpider"A free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 26 million structures from hundreds of data sources." There is an introduction video on the home page.
- ASTM Compass This link opens in a new windowPortal to the ASTM Book of Standards, research reports, and a digital library of journals, technical publications, data, proceedings and more.
Note: Users will need to select Academic Access and search for James Madison University
Handbook & Encylopedia Tutorials
- CRC HandbookAlso known as the Chemists' Bible, the CRC Handbook contains property information.
- Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical TechnologyMulti-volume set containing encyclopedia entries for major events and processes in chemistry and technology.
- Lange's HandbookIncludes general data, figures, and tables on information broken down into 4 sections of chemistry: Inorganic, Organic, Spectroscopy, and General Information and Converstion Tables.
- Merck Index OnlineThe Merck Index contains 10,955 monographs describing significant chemicals, drugs, and biological substances.
- Hawley's Condensed Chemical DictionaryA dictionary of chemical terms. Also contains information about Nobel scientists and Trademarked chemicals.
Print Reference Sources
The Reference section in Rose Library is on the 2nd floor.
Use the library catalog search, or come to the library to find others!
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by Call Number: QD415.A25 E53 2004Located in Rose Library - Reference
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Call Number: QD5 .C5 2007Located in Rose Library - Reference
Annual Book of ASTM Standards by Call Number: TA401 .A6531 - TA401 .A65315Link is to catalog record for Section 1. Sections 2-15 are shelved alongside.
Located in Rose Library - Reference
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry by Call Number: QD148 .E53 2005Located in Rose Library - Reference
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology by Call Number: TP9 .K54 2004Located in Rose Library - Reference
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by Call Number: QP512 .O94 2006Located in Rose Library - Reference
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry by Call Number: QD4 .V36 2005Located in Rose Library - Reference
