Accessing Articles
Before you start
Be sure you are connected to Official JMU Wireless Network or configuring your computer to Connect from Off-Campus!
While searching for an article
Look for this button to check if we have access to the article through another database or journal.
If we don't have access to an article
You can request an electronic copy of it from another library using Interlibrary Loan. This can usually take 1-2 days.
Top Chemistry & Biochemistry Databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowIndexing, abstracts, and citation searching for science and social science scholarly literature.
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts periodical articles in chemistry.
Note: First-time users will need to create an account using their JMU email address - PubMed This link opens in a new windowA medical and health database developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) that provides access and searching for life science journals.
Other Helpful Chemistry & Biochemistry Databases
- American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Index to journals published by the American Chemical Society. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndex with full text of Annual Reviews in biological and medical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences.
- History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new windowBibliographic entries for journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science, technology, and medicine.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (RSC)Index of journals published by RSC.
- ProQuest Materials Science Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles related to materials science and the entire range of bibliographic records from the Materials Research Database - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts with some full text journals from the publisher Elsevier, the majority of which are in science, technology and medicine.
Databases You Should Know
While JMU does not currently have access to these resources, it is important that you be aware of them.
- Web of ScienceProvides access to multiple databases, cross-disciplinary research, and in-depth exploration of specialized subfields within an academic or scientific discipline. No access at JMU.
- Beilsteins Handbuch der organischen Chemie (Beilsteins)A compilation of checked information on carbon compounds. The Beilstein database (on Reaxys), is not an exact duplication of the Handbook. Click here for more information. No access at JMU.
- Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic ChemistryNot technically a database (it's a book), this is the most extensive printed compilation of information and data on chemical elements and their compounds and alloys. Indexed in Reaxys. No access at JMU.
- ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database)Provides structures and related citations for inorganic crystal structures. No access at JMU.