Have a Question? Ask Me
Related Research Guides
Best bets: Scholarly databases
These databases are best for finding peer-reviewed articles in sport & recreation management.
You must authenticate as a JMU user with Duo to access them, whether on-campus or off-campus.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Content types: Peer-reviewed journals, trade journals, magazines, news sources specific to hospitality and tourism.
Dates covered: 1924-present - Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content types: Peer-reviewed journals, industry and market research reports, magazines, news sources, SWOTS
Dates covered: 1922-present - SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts and full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines related to sports, recreation, etc.
Dates covered: 1892-present - ProQuest SciTech Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Content type(s): Scholarly articles, trade journals technology topics.
Dates covered: 1693-present - Scopus This link opens in a new windowContent types: Abstracts/citations for peer-reviewed journals. Check for Full Text @ JMU button will connect you to article's full-text.
Dates covered: 1966-present
Database search tips
JMU's databases of scholarly articles require different search strategies from Google.
Search strategies
Boolean terms
AND- Searches for both terms in the same record
OR- Searches for records with either term
Not- Excludes records with that search term
Wildcards
* Searches for words with alternative endings. Ex: behav* = behavior, behave
? Represents a single character, anywhere in the word: Ex: analy?e
“...” Searches for records with the exact phrase
Can I use Google Scholar to find articles?
Yes, of course! Academic researchers do all the time. But be aware of its benefits ...
- Allows you to search scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, not just a single database.
- Suggests related articles, who else has cited this work
- Frequently the fastest way to track down an article by citation
... and limitations
- Not all articles returned are available full-text through JMU Libraries
- Not all articles are peer-reviewed ( and there's no way to filter)
- Less precise results than you’ll get using a specialized database
Find a particular article using a citation
Often, simply searching the title of an article in quotation marks in Google Scholar will bring you to the electronic version.
Alternatively, search for the journal title using the "Find a peer-reviewed journal by title" box below.
This video shows how to identify the journal title from an article citation.
If we don't have full-text available, request it free* from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
*Occasionally, items require a fee. You can cancel the request.