Business Librarian
Sources of Business Case Studies That Have No Extra Charge
MBA courses often use the case study method, in which students discuss a scenario faced by a real business executive. These resources can be used to find case studies to discuss or practice on your own.
This list contains databases or websites that publish their cases open access (without a fee) or that JMU has a subscription for.
- SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed cases from real world situations to instruct researchers and future businesspeople in best practices for future success. Includes cases in accounting, ethics, entrepreneurship, leadership, marketing, and more.
- Journal of Business Cases and ApplicationsPeer-reviewed journal dedicated to applied cases and exercises developed for classroom use in business education.
- Case Consortium at Columbia University.Our case collection includes "teaching" cases for the fields of journalism, public policy, public health, and other disciplines. Nearly all the cases are multimedia and based on original research; a few are written from secondary sources. All cases are offered free of charge.
- Society for Case ResearchThis organization publishes three scholarly journals containing case studies: Business Case Journal (BCJ); Journal of Case Studies (JCS); & Journal of Critical Incidents (JCI).
- Harvard Business Review (JMU subscription)Access to HBR articles and their mini-case studies. Check the tutorial below for help finding cases.
Websites that Allow You to Purchase Business Case Studies
These publishers sell access to their business case studies. Some may not be available for students to purchase because the access is restricted to instructional faculty. NOTE: JMU Libraries can't purchase individual cases for instructors or students, from Harvard or any other sites.
- Harvard Business Publishing EducationUnder the Catalog menu, find Content Types and select cases.
- HEC Montréal Case CentreCollection of 2,000+ original, adapted or translated cases and teaching documents.
- WDI PublishingThis catalog of case studies is published by the William Davidson Institute at the University of Michigan’s Ross School of Business.
Tips for Getting the Best Info from Recommended Databases
JMU Libraries has created several tutorials in Google Slides to help students use our specialized business resources.
Click on the name of the database to open the tutorial that shows how to search for data and cite the information you find in APA style.
